CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Stinger Series CNC Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-01-2014, 05:10 PM
Timberwolf Design Timberwolf Design is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 39
Default

Well after missing with this for a few hours I got the laser back to .008 off the bit mark. I can live with this but it would be nice to know it was .000 LOL.
Thanks for your help Mick
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-01-2014, 07:47 PM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 3,376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timberwolf Design View Post
Well after missing with this for a few hours I got the laser back to .008 off the bit mark. I can live with this but it would be nice to know it was .000 LOL.
Thanks for your help Mick
Now you have gone this far, why not add .008 to the "laser_zero.mac" file in the direction you need ...... should be any easy fix, then as you stated you will have the correct offset.
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 9 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-03-2014, 11:55 AM
Timberwolf Design Timberwolf Design is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 39
Default

Hell of a weekend but I did get the laser to work.
I went home Friday night had a cigar and a bourbon and thought this out clearly.
After working in the Air Force communications and 22 years as a AutoCAD/3D solid molder (air Force simulations) I kept telling my self in AutoCAD and Solid Works (X,Y,Z or 0,0,0) is where you set it no matter what Right. Then why wont this system hold the settings that Camaster had me set and the same directions from Mick?
Well about 11:00 pm it dawned on me what has happened and the ONE IMPORTANT step that Robert at Camaster or Mick for got to mention.
I hoped back in my truck and went to my shop. Sure enough as soon as I initiated my machine and told it to go to X0,Y0 it went right to the spot.
What was the Imporetant step nobody mentioned? REBOOT THE COMPUTER after we went in to WINCNC and changed the settings. The original settings in WINCNC (Laser-Zero) were in cache memory and the settings that Robert (same with Mick) ask me to change would not take effect until the computer was rebooted and then WINCNC would acknowledged the new settings.

Simple but stupid of me all I had to do is reboot my computer after making the changes......

Last edited by Timberwolf Design; 03-03-2014 at 11:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-03-2014, 01:05 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,539
Default

Bart...
Actually you shouldn't have to reboot the computer, just close down WinCNC, and restart. WinCNC reads those files only on startup.

If you look over the manual, it is repeated numerous times.... each time you make a change you must restart WinCNC to activate your changes.

Take a peek at the WinCNC manual, page 43. It will mention the restart in the firsty paragraph, and then shows how and what each of these parameters changes.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-03-2014, 01:17 PM
Timberwolf Design Timberwolf Design is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 39
Default

Then something is drastically wrong with my system. Because the setting DID NOT take effect until I rebooted the computer ???????????
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-03-2014, 01:19 PM
Timberwolf Design Timberwolf Design is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 39
Default

I have been telling Luke at Camaster that something is wrong with my system.
At least once a week I have to re-establish Z0 or my system does not perform right
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-21-2017, 04:51 PM
moell54 moell54 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Boerne, Texas (near San Antonio)
Posts: 80
Default Did I Tell You I Love This Forum?

While barely getting my feet wet on the new Panther I followed Mick Martinís post, above, to EXACTLY adjust the laser offset from the tip of a bit.
Worked like a charm.

Thanks!
__________________
Aubrey Blalock
Panther 404 (Nov '17)
3KW HSD
FTC, Laser, Counter Balance, 2" Gantry Lift
KRS Keypad
WinCNC, Aspire 9.0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.