CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > The Water Cooler > Work we Produce !!!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 06-13-2018, 06:09 PM
T.R.MacMunn T.R.MacMunn is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mtn.Grove Ontario
Posts: 2,164
Default

That looks pretty good, James. You're doin' just fine.
I don't think I've ever finished anything where I didn't think " I'd do this, or that, differently next time". The quest for improvement is the mortal enemy of mediocrity.
__________________
TR
www.trmacsigns.com
CAMaster MC4836 named Jemima
Aspire 3.5
Mach3
CoreldrawX3
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-13-2018, 07:27 PM
Jim_in_PA Jim_in_PA is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 650
Default

Those look great, James!!!! The applied racquet was absolutely the way to go. It looks balanced with the photo. Nice job!
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-13-2018, 08:15 PM
BradyWatson BradyWatson is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: 1 hour South of Philly
Posts: 272
Default

First plaque? Very nice job!

One critique on the net component - more of a teaching moment - there is ALWAYS some disparity between 3D voxels (how Aspire/Artcam represents 3D) and the 2D vectors used as the machining boundary. This is one place where messing around with offsetting the boundary vector in/out so that you get a nice clean perimeter/profile cut without that subtle ball end mill dip right before it is squared off. Sometimes this is 1/2 the 3D bit dia, but other times a fraction more or less depending on scale and resolution. Hammering on the previewer until it looks perfect will kick your quality up another notch.

Like I said, nice job!

-B
__________________
IBILD Solutions - High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-13-2018, 08:39 PM
drummerjg drummerjg is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Addison, PA
Posts: 574
Default

I wish my current plaques looked as good as your first one! Very nice job. I really like the contrast between the woods and the 3d net looks great. Im sure there will be some very happy recipients.
__________________
Joe Garber
Retired Hobbyist
Stinger 1 SR24
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
Indexing Lathe
WinCNC
Aspire 9
trommlerjg@gmail.com


How to count to 10 in Windows:
1,2,3,95,NT,2000,XP,Vista,7,8,10
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-13-2018, 10:33 PM
Charlie_L Charlie_L is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,392
Default

Looks great. Thanks for sharing.
__________________
Charlie L
Stinger II, 48 by 48, 1.7 kW Spindle, FTC + Laser + Recoil + Vacuum, July 2012
WinCNC 2.5.03, Aspire 9, PhotoVCarve, Windows 7 Pro SP1
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-14-2018, 11:09 AM
jbiddle jbiddle is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BradyWatson View Post
First plaque? Very nice job!

One critique on the net component - more of a teaching moment - there is ALWAYS some disparity between 3D voxels (how Aspire/Artcam represents 3D) and the 2D vectors used as the machining boundary. This is one place where messing around with offsetting the boundary vector in/out so that you get a nice clean perimeter/profile cut without that subtle ball end mill dip right before it is squared off. Sometimes this is 1/2 the 3D bit dia, but other times a fraction more or less depending on scale and resolution. Hammering on the previewer until it looks perfect will kick your quality up another notch.

Like I said, nice job!

-B
Light bulb moment! I wondered why that outside transition looked so rough. I need to make a few more of the racquet heads soon and will definitely play with that. I've got to hammer out my graphic issues with my previewer though, it's horrible with way too much pixelation. I suspect it's somewhere in my iMac/Fusion/Windows configuration.
__________________
James Biddle
Previous CNC-Panther PT-408
15HP FPZ regen w/starter
Auto relief valve
Vectric Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-14-2018, 12:39 PM
BradyWatson BradyWatson is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: 1 hour South of Philly
Posts: 272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbiddle View Post
Light bulb moment! I wondered why that outside transition looked so rough. I need to make a few more of the racquet heads soon and will definitely play with that. I've got to hammer out my graphic issues with my previewer though, it's horrible with way too much pixelation. I suspect it's somewhere in my iMac/Fusion/Windows configuration.
Change the previewer quality....

-B
Attached Images
File Type: jpg AspirePreviewerQuality.jpg (54.3 KB, 25 views)
__________________
IBILD Solutions - High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-14-2018, 04:41 PM
jbiddle jbiddle is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BradyWatson View Post
Change the previewer quality....

-B
Perfect, I was changing the modeling resolution instead of the previewer quality. Much better.
__________________
James Biddle
Previous CNC-Panther PT-408
15HP FPZ regen w/starter
Auto relief valve
Vectric Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-14-2018, 07:20 PM
BradyWatson BradyWatson is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: 1 hour South of Philly
Posts: 272
Default

Put your modelling resolution on at least 7x. Keep your model workspace XY as small as you can (within reason) so that things don't get spread too thin. For instance, if the relief is about 12" x 12", make the workspace 16" or 18" square. You certainly DO NOT want to put a 4" square relief on a 48x96" workspace - it will get washed out.

FYI - Resolution makes no difference at all if you are just doing 2D work using vectors. It is only relevant if you are doing 3D.

-B
__________________
IBILD Solutions - High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-14-2018, 08:38 PM
jbiddle jbiddle is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 160
Default

Brady, now that I can see the detail around the perimeter, your explanation if adjusting the boundary vector makes so much more sense.

I played with changing the size of the model space and can see what you're saying about it washing out if it's not tight enough. (Looks like what I was viewing with the resolution set as standard.)

Thanks again.
__________________
James Biddle
Previous CNC-Panther PT-408
15HP FPZ regen w/starter
Auto relief valve
Vectric Aspire
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.