CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Software > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2018, 02:16 PM
Steve Burke Steve Burke is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 25
Default Need help with Vectric Cut 2D

I posted in the Vectric forum and received answers, but so far I am still unable to do what I am trying to do. I am trying to mill out the area between the letters and between the letters and the line above and below the letters. Any help would be appreciated.
The letters are not grouped together. I have tried converting them to curves, but that only allows me to separate the inner part of the B from the outer lines. I want to stop at the point where the letter meets the upper and lower lines.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Vectric Screenshot.jpg (91.3 KB, 63 views)
__________________
Stinger 1
Windows 10
Cut 2D
3.5 Milwaukee router
Prepped for recoil
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2018, 02:55 PM
Ger21 Ger21 is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Posts: 279
Default

Copy the letters and the lines to another layer, and trim the lines and letters to make closed vectors of the areas you want to machine. Use these new closed vectors for your toolpaths.
__________________
Gerry

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-2018, 03:12 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,591
Default

You will have to generate a rectangle that is slightly wider than the letters and as high as the lines above and below to form the outer machining boundary. Then select the boundary AND the letters for a pocketing toolpath.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-03-2018, 10:11 PM
Steve Burke Steve Burke is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 25
Default

Ok, with all the different suggestions I have it figured out. I have to
Make it a curve, node edit, add points, cut points, make it a vector then select it for cutting.
It's a lot of steps but I got it to work.
Thanks everyone.
__________________
Stinger 1
Windows 10
Cut 2D
3.5 Milwaukee router
Prepped for recoil
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.