CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > The File Swap Meet > Vectric Rotary Files

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2011, 09:09 AM
dschutz dschutz is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 53
Default Recoil Post Processor

Hi all,

How do I know if I have a post processor for my recoil?I am currently using "CAMaster_X3_Arcs_inch.pp" for all table top work.

I am also trying to find a tutorial for doing a "touch top" on the recoil.I keep being pushed to 222artisans,leaving me to believe that I am clearly not understanding something or I just don't get the lingo.

Any help would be great.

Thanks again,
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2011, 09:43 AM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 3,394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by centrotherm View Post
Hi all,

How do I know if I have a post processor for my recoil?I am currently using "CAMaster_X3_Arcs_inch.pp" for all table top work.

I am also trying to find a tutorial for doing a "touch top" on the recoil.I keep being pushed to 222artisans,leaving me to believe that I am clearly not understanding something or I just don't get the lingo.

Any help would be great.

Thanks again,
Doug
Doug,

The post processor you need for your recoil is "CAMaster XtoA.pp" I will attach it to this post.

I don't think there is any information on using touch top for your recoil, you could build a Jig and place your touch pad on top of it at the same height as your drive center, must people tend to work off the center line. I have a laser that I install in my collet, I then jog the spindle/router so the laser is on the tip of the drive center is give you the X and Y value. Then measuring the diameter of the drive center, then installing a bit or a piece of 1/4" round stock. Jog the router/spindle to top dead center on you drive center, carefully touch the top of the drive center then record the Z value jog the router/spindle into free space then enter half the diameter (radius) into the command line eg Z-1.25 (enter). Maybe some else has a different method they can post.
Attached Files
File Type: pp CAMaster XtoA.pp (3.8 KB, 60 views)
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 9 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!

Last edited by Mick Martin; 02-04-2012 at 08:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2011, 09:45 AM
james mcgrew's Avatar
james mcgrew james mcgrew is offline
Administrator, (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ridgeway sc
Posts: 6,696
Default

also bracket out x and unbracket A,, or i believe you can simply un bracket A
__________________
James McGrew
CAMaster ATC 508
The principle of Measure twice cut once has not been replaced by a CNC

www.mcgrewwoodwork.com

https://www.facebook.com/pg/Mcgrew-W...=page_internal

Camera 1 ATC Closeup !
https://video.nest.com/live/esNTrZ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2011, 09:49 AM
james mcgrew's Avatar
james mcgrew james mcgrew is offline
Administrator, (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ridgeway sc
Posts: 6,696
Default

i always leave a bit of material at the base and work all xyz from there
__________________
James McGrew
CAMaster ATC 508
The principle of Measure twice cut once has not been replaced by a CNC

www.mcgrewwoodwork.com

https://www.facebook.com/pg/Mcgrew-W...=page_internal

Camera 1 ATC Closeup !
https://video.nest.com/live/esNTrZ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-15-2011, 10:21 AM
dschutz dschutz is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 53
Default Thank you gentlemen

Great,

I am eager for info.This stuff is great and the community sure helps.
Thanks,again,
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-2012, 10:40 PM
rcrawford rcrawford is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,171
Default

Is there an 'x to a' post processor that supports the cobra ATC function?
__________________
Russell Crawford
Cobra 408 ATC with recoil
Alberta, Canada
www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-12-2012, 12:11 AM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 3,394
Default

Russell,

I am not to sure about the ATC but I would think it's the same as any other CAMaster machine, they use 2 post processors 1 for flat work XYZ and the other for the recoil.
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 9 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!

Last edited by Mick Martin; 01-12-2012 at 12:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-03-2012, 10:18 PM
rcrawford rcrawford is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,171
Default

Does the regular XtoA pp support tool changes with the ATC?
__________________
Russell Crawford
Cobra 408 ATC with recoil
Alberta, Canada
www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-04-2012, 08:42 AM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 3,394
Default

Russell,

I just viewed the post processor I posted in post #2 above and it supports an ATC machine.
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 9 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.