CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Stinger Series CNC Routers > MC CNC Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2015, 09:19 PM
T.R.MacMunn T.R.MacMunn is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mtn.Grove Ontario
Posts: 2,020
Default Z losing height

4836 Mini Cobra
Z started losing height halfway through a long file Tried a shorter file later & started dropping right off the start. Bearings in Z seem to be grinding ( they were fine when I started) .... would this cause the Z to drop.
It doesn't appear to be the driveshaft, or the connector.
__________________
TR
www.trmacsigns.com
CAMaster MC4836 named Jemima
Aspire 3.5
Mach3
CoreldrawX3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2015, 11:18 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,335
Default

TR...
If there is a mechanical bind, then your stepper could be loosing steps on rapid up movements.

Disassemble, clean, lube! Let us know if you need any help
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2015, 11:33 PM
rcrawford rcrawford is online now
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,145
Default

If you were to surface your spoil board, does the Z end up at a different height at the finish compared to the start? Or does it only lose height when you have Z movements?
__________________
Russell Crawford
Cobra 408 ATC with recoil
Alberta, Canada
www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2015, 04:52 AM
T.R.MacMunn T.R.MacMunn is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mtn.Grove Ontario
Posts: 2,020
Default

Thanks guys.
I just checked the last cut I made ( tried it on a new piece) .... it was a profile cut with a .125" BN, set to .25" deep. It appears to have dropped immediately to .50, & didn't raise enough to clear the surface when it moved to a different spot. Then it maintained its depth throughout the remainder of the cut.
The previous path, on the original board, was a series of pockets with the same bit set to .65" depth, but because of the previous layers it was only removing .15" on HDU. The first few pockets were fine, but then, every pocket got deeper until it was 1.25" . The screen said it was still at .65".
I was watching this all unfold .... up to .9" depth didn't matter.

So, I'm really confused now ....
__________________
TR
www.trmacsigns.com
CAMaster MC4836 named Jemima
Aspire 3.5
Mach3
CoreldrawX3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2015, 01:07 PM
CosmosK CosmosK is online now
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 785
Default

There was another thread on here recently about a ballnut housing being loose. In his case, the ballscrew would spin, but so would the nut in its housing. The cylindrical nut is somehow held in the rectangular housing and it was not holding. He had to order a new nut.
__________________
2014 Stinger II (SR-44)
1.7 kW Spindle w/ speed control, Performance kit, VCarve Pro
www.cosmos-industrial.com
>Pen Marking Tools - >Drag Knife
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.