CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-16-2017, 10:14 AM
gachua gachua is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Morrisville, NC
Posts: 252
Default Help Needed - Z Axis Problem

Went to run a job due mid next week. Initialized, warmed up, ran a few test cuts with no problems...

Started to perform a Touch Top and got a grinding sound on the Z-Axis.

- Stopped, restarted and still the same grinding. Unable to move Z-Axis up and down
- Power off machine and WINCNC. Restarted Computer. Tried Z-Axis again and still same problem.

I took a quick video of me using the PGUP & PGDWN keys trying to move the Z-Axis.

https://youtu.be/isCdSFnXKbc

Really need some assistance on identifying what the problem is and more importantly how I can quickly repair. I'm just starting to work with this customer and don't want to leave a bad first impression.

If I can't get repaired by tomorrow I will have to see if I can have someone locally help out to cut this one job.

Thanks !!
__________________
Glenn Chua
gachua@gmail.com
Morrisville, NC
*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*
CAMaster Stinger III
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-16-2017, 11:52 AM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,594
Default

Glenn...
Remove the Z motor and retest. You are looking to see if the problem is motor/drive related or in the ballscrew and bearings.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-16-2017, 12:39 PM
gachua gachua is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Morrisville, NC
Posts: 252
Default

Thanks Gary.

Removed the Z-Axis motor.

Ballscrew and bearings seem fine. When I manually turn it will raise and lower from top to bottom with no problem.

Plugged the motor back in with just power. It definitely has a problem...

See Vid:
https://youtu.be/ENvsGdy-3Uc

I guess the next step is to buy a new Z-motor? I have no idea what they cost or where to get from??
__________________
Glenn Chua
gachua@gmail.com
Morrisville, NC
*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*
CAMaster Stinger III
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-16-2017, 01:00 PM
gachua gachua is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Morrisville, NC
Posts: 252
Default

One other thing to note.

Looked at the cable and noticed some burn marks on two of the prong areas. Not sure if this has any significance, but wanted to mention. (SEE IMAGE)

Also... I took a look at the label and found this exact replacement motor:

http://www.americanmotiontech.com/pr...-stepper-motor

I will go ahead and order unless you think I should order from somewhere else??
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_6342.jpg (86.1 KB, 49 views)
__________________
Glenn Chua
gachua@gmail.com
Morrisville, NC
*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*
CAMaster Stinger III
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-16-2017, 01:39 PM
hefty hefty is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 154
Default

Glenn,
Your motor is probably OK. They are pretty tough.
The black on the connector means that connection was arcing. Clean the connections and check across them with an ohm meter if you have one. You can also measure the impedance of the windings in the motor to prove the motor is OK. By connecting across a winding and turning the shaft slowly by hand, you will see the reading go up and down. This indicates the winding is OK.
If cleaning, checking termination, and reseating the connector pin does not fix the issue, the drive has most likely failed because of the bad connection. Before you change the drive, the connector will have to be made good or it will happen again.
John
__________________
John Stanley Stinger II 3'x4', FTC, Laser, 1.7 Kw HSD w/ AB 523 SVC drive, V Carve Pro 7.5, WinCNC

Last edited by hefty; 07-16-2017 at 01:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-16-2017, 01:46 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,594
Default

Glenn...
Motor is seldom bad unless it has severely overheated, burned some coils and then overloaded the connector. Cut out the connector and use crimp butt splices and retest. Make sure you match the pinout of the Molex Mini-fit.

If you still have the problem, then I would look to the stepper drive as the issue. You should be able to buy them from AMT also, I am out of stock til my order comes in.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-16-2017, 04:27 PM
gachua gachua is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Morrisville, NC
Posts: 252
Default

Thanks John & Gary...

I cut out the connector, re-spliced and still the same issue with the motor. Hear it spinning and it will randomly rotate the shaft. Exact same behavior as 2nd video I posted.

Should I go as far as trying to connect the motor directly to the inside cabinet with some new wire?

Thanks again.
__________________
Glenn Chua
gachua@gmail.com
Morrisville, NC
*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*
CAMaster Stinger III
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-16-2017, 04:34 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,594
Default

Glenn..
Go inside the control cabinet and plug the wire from the Z motor into the X drive. Power down first, of course. Retest using the X keyboard controls

IF the motor works on the X drive, order a new Z drive. If it doesn't, verify wiring is good, then order a Z motor
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-16-2017, 05:09 PM
gachua gachua is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Morrisville, NC
Posts: 252
Default

Moved Z-motor wiring to X-drive like you recommended. Z Motor is fine.

I do have a "RC-Drive" that is not being used as I purchased recoil ready... Can I use this drive. Pin outs on X, Y, Y2, and Z are identical. The RC dip switches are set differently.

Thinking maybe I can move the dip switches to match the Z-Drive and plug the Z-Motor wires into there?
__________________
Glenn Chua
gachua@gmail.com
Morrisville, NC
*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*.*
CAMaster Stinger III
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-16-2017, 06:33 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,594
Default

Yes you can, just swap the drive, set the switches and plug in the wires.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.