CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Cobra CNC Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2018, 06:51 PM
Jefoni Jefoni is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Mesa, Az
Posts: 40
Default Y2 Thinks it in tripped

I machined a part, moved machine out of the way to approx. Y 60, when I went to move it forward back to zero it tripped low Y limit. The green LED for Y limit is NOT lit, so machine thinks the Y axis hit the low Y limit switch.

Red arrow next to Y on display. When I use L28Y I can move machine backwards but when I try to move it forward it thinks it has already hit low Y limit.

I have checked every connection I know to check. The low Y switch is P0B1 on the machine motherboard, and it has 24 volts like the others but green LED is not lit.

Hope I am making sense. Any direction or guidance would be appreciated.

Jeff
__________________
Jeff Searles
Camaster Cobra 408 X3 + 7.5hp Main Spindle + Recoil
Vectric V Carve Pro 7, Aspire 9, Photo Carve,
Cut 2D, Cut 3D
Vacuum Holdown Gentec T3, 15hp FPZ pump
Win CNC Windows 10
www.workagainstthegrain.com
Jefonitoo@gmail.com
http://www.youtube.com/workagainstthegrain
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-27-2018, 07:34 AM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,655
Default

Jeff...
Have you tried jumpering the switch to see if it is bad? Does pressing the switch on/off change the state?
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2018, 12:43 PM
Jefoni Jefoni is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Mesa, Az
Posts: 40
Default

Yes sir...I tried jumping, no change. Pressing has no change. All the others when you press the light on board goes out. For whatever reason the machine thinks the Y2 is pressed in, so the led on board is off and a little red arrow next to Y on WINCNC display.
__________________
Jeff Searles
Camaster Cobra 408 X3 + 7.5hp Main Spindle + Recoil
Vectric V Carve Pro 7, Aspire 9, Photo Carve,
Cut 2D, Cut 3D
Vacuum Holdown Gentec T3, 15hp FPZ pump
Win CNC Windows 10
www.workagainstthegrain.com
Jefonitoo@gmail.com
http://www.youtube.com/workagainstthegrain
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2018, 01:32 PM
Charlie_L Charlie_L is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,374
Default

I had an input go bad once on the x switch. In that case had spate inputs on the WinCNC board inside the machine. Moved from the p0b1 in your example to an unused one. Then changed the WinCNC configuration to match.
Just eliminate all possibilities like it sounds you maybe have using a jumper instead of the switch.
__________________
Charlie L
Stinger II, 48 by 48, 1.7 kW Spindle, FTC + Laser + Recoil + Vacuum, July 2012
WinCNC 2.5.03, Aspire 9, PhotoVCarve, Windows 7 Pro SP1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-27-2018, 01:34 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,655
Default

Check for loose wire at board end? You could make sure switch works with an ohmmeter and use another input
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-27-2018, 01:49 PM
Jefoni Jefoni is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Mesa, Az
Posts: 40
Default

Charlie, I moved from P0B2 to P1B6 and problem solved.....

Not to sound dense, but what does that mean? That input on the board is bad??

Thanks gents for the assistance.
__________________
Jeff Searles
Camaster Cobra 408 X3 + 7.5hp Main Spindle + Recoil
Vectric V Carve Pro 7, Aspire 9, Photo Carve,
Cut 2D, Cut 3D
Vacuum Holdown Gentec T3, 15hp FPZ pump
Win CNC Windows 10
www.workagainstthegrain.com
Jefonitoo@gmail.com
http://www.youtube.com/workagainstthegrain
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-27-2018, 04:03 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,655
Default

Jeff...
Yes, sometimes an input circuit will take a jolt of static or some other current spike and go bad. Glad you are up and running
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-27-2018, 04:47 PM
Jefoni Jefoni is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Mesa, Az
Posts: 40
Default

Thanks for the teaching moment and can't thank you guys enough. APPRECIATE the help. Have a great weekend!!!
__________________
Jeff Searles
Camaster Cobra 408 X3 + 7.5hp Main Spindle + Recoil
Vectric V Carve Pro 7, Aspire 9, Photo Carve,
Cut 2D, Cut 3D
Vacuum Holdown Gentec T3, 15hp FPZ pump
Win CNC Windows 10
www.workagainstthegrain.com
Jefonitoo@gmail.com
http://www.youtube.com/workagainstthegrain
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-27-2018, 06:42 PM
Charlie_L Charlie_L is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,374
Default

Jeff,
This turned out really well because you provided answers to all the questions that go through a persons mind as you start troubleshooting. That is helpful in putting the puzzle together from afar. Glad we could help just a little.
__________________
Charlie L
Stinger II, 48 by 48, 1.7 kW Spindle, FTC + Laser + Recoil + Vacuum, July 2012
WinCNC 2.5.03, Aspire 9, PhotoVCarve, Windows 7 Pro SP1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.