CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Tips & Techniques > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2011, 02:35 PM
jkindelspire jkindelspire is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 83
Default Logitech F310 controller

We just hooked up our new pendant controller for our Cobra. We're using a Logitech F310 game controller to control the CNC without having to be tied to the keyboard. It's not a wireless controller, but with a 6' cord and a 3' extension it gets us close enough to the action. For less than $25 at Amazon, it's definitely worth it.

Our button setup is as follows:
Left joystick up/down = Y axis move
Left joystick left/right = X axis move
Left joystick depress = set XY to zero

Right joystick up/down = Z axis move
Right joystick left/right = A axis move
Right joystick depress = set Z to zero

A button = Enter
B button = Esc
X button = run MACRO_PARK.MAC
Y button = Space

Back button = run MACRO_TOUCHTOP.MAC
Start button = run MACRO_MEASURE_TOOL_1.MAC

LT button = medium transit
LB button = fast transit
RT button = .01" increments
RB button = .1" increments

This gives us a total of 16 programmable inputs that we can customize as we see fit. For now, this seems to be a good number of actions we want to carry out close to the machine during setup. It's definitely advantageous to have a compact control device that allows us to control the CNC while at the workpiece, not at the computer. Also, using the game controller seems to be more intuitive than the keyboard controls. If you've been on the fence about picking up a game controller to use to control your CNC, I'd say do it.

-Justin
Attached Images
File Type: jpg controller.jpg (15.4 KB, 57 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2011, 03:55 PM
Joey Jarrard's Avatar
Joey Jarrard Joey Jarrard is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calhoun, GA
Posts: 3,194
Default

Justin the first time I did this I had to write my name in the spoil board just to see if I could. I wish I had took a picture. It is the big kid equivalent to writing in the snow.
__________________
Joey Jarrard

US Router Tools
888-720-TOOL (8665)
www.usroutertools.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2011, 04:01 PM
tonywish tonywish is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Coaldale, CO 81222
Posts: 748
Default Controller

Is it as simple as just plugging it into the USB port or is it more complicated. Also is a wireless one available??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2011, 04:02 PM
tonywish tonywish is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Coaldale, CO 81222
Posts: 748
Default Controller

Is it as simple as plugging in the cord to the USB port or is it more complex? Also is there a wireless model available.

Tony Wish
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2011, 04:46 PM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 3,353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonywish View Post
Is it as simple as plugging in the cord to the USB port or is it more complex? Also is there a wireless model available.

Tony Wish
Hi Tony,

Check this out http://www.camheads.org/showthread.p...light=wireless in post #9 and on I explain how I set my up my wireless game pad controller.

Mick
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 8 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
http://dropc.am/p/eaLXUP
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-22-2011, 07:03 PM
tonywish tonywish is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Coaldale, CO 81222
Posts: 748
Default game Controller

Hi Mick,

I went to that post but all it had was a picture of the controller.

Tony
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-22-2011, 10:03 PM
Mark Johnston Mark Johnston is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Prescott AZ
Posts: 806
Default

Tony,

Go to the second page Mick describes the setup in detail.
Good luck.
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2011, 01:05 AM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 3,353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonywish View Post
Hi Mick,

I went to that post but all it had was a picture of the controller.

Tony
Tony,

With the game controller is also a setup disk, once you load the setup disk onto your CNC computer instead of selecting a game to use your controller you select wincnc.exe you can see this inside the yellow square (attached picture) The whole setup takes about 10 - 15 minutes.

The way I have the Logitech cordless rumble pad 2 setup is as follows:

Left joystick
Left / Right = Left and Right gantry X axis
Up / down = Forward and backward gantry Y axis

Right joystick
Left / Right = none (not set any commands)
Up / down = Router up and down Z axis

Button #1 = Router "On" (This was one of the options I bought when ordering my stinger, CAMaster installed some relays.)
Button #2 = Router "Off" (Same comments as above)
Button #3 = "Enter"
Button #4 = "Space bar / pause"
Button #9 = "Home" X0, Y0
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Logitech.JPG (36.7 KB, 39 views)
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 8 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
http://dropc.am/p/eaLXUP
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-23-2011, 09:21 AM
Kevin Case Kevin Case is offline
CAMaster Stinger Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charles City, Virginia
Posts: 73
Default

I ordered one from Amazon with the link supplied so I hope it is that easy to set-up. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-23-2011, 11:23 AM
jkindelspire jkindelspire is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 83
Default

It is incredibly easy to set up. Windows recognized the game controller immediately. It is necessary to use the software to set up the buttons for WinCNC. It took 15 mins tops for me to get the controller working.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.