CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Tips & Techniques > CAMaster Routed Signmaking

Old 04-03-2017, 03:41 PM
CAMaster Owner

Default Cedar Sign Finish

I have been making some blanks to test out the CNC when it gets here and wondering what everyone uses for a finish?

I have seen a lot of comments on the sikkens products, so far I have tested the log and siding with mixed results. It takes an extremely long time to dry and not very efficient for making signs.

I have also seen some recommendations for General Finishes Exterior 450 Stain/Clear or the Cabot Australian Oil.

Any suggestions?
FTC, Laser Cross Hair
Counter Balance, 2" Gantry Lift
T-Slot Table, Remote Keypad
WinCNC, VCarve Pro 8
Old 04-03-2017, 05:27 PM
CAMaster Owner

Well, I make signs for a living and I warranty everything that leaves here. If you paint your signs with good quality 100% acrylic paints, they'll look good for a decade or more.
If you use any of the "natural" finishes, you can expect them to start looking shabby after 3 years or so.
Sikkens Cetol was a warranty nightmare for me. Besides being a female dog to strip off, it was burning the eyes out of my head. I've used a bit of Australian Timber Oil, but only warranty it for 1 year outdoors.. I do 5 years for painted signs.
If someone insists on seeing the grain, I just paint it on.
If it's an indoor sign, I use PPG or Porter Ultra deep base without pigment. You don't need a lot of UV protection indoors
Any finish that won't allow moisture to migrate through it won't last long on cedar. Spar varnish blows too ....

For the record, I like a natural finish as much as the next guy but I don't want signs coming back for refinishing until they're at least 10 to 15 years old
Aspire 3.5
Mach3
CoreldrawX3
Old 04-04-2017, 08:31 AM
CAMaster Owner

Scott .... I "googled" you to see where exactly you are located.... although I'm a bit south of you, I suspect we have a very similar climate.