CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Software > General Discussion

Old 08-30-2017, 09:04 PM
CAMhead Friend

Default Upgrade to Aspire the right choice?

Hi everyone,

First of all, I would like to thank everyone who has helped me this far with all my newbie questions.

I purchased Vcarve Pro with my Stinger III for my speargun business/hobby. I worked with a guy who used Solidworks for the prototype 3d model. I was able to successfully make my first prototype gun a couple weeks ago and have been putting it through some vigorous testing. There are a few design issues that need to be tweaked.

I am new to CAD and CAM but am learning fast. My plan is to be able to do the 3d modeling myself and more efficiently set up my toolpathing. I know my cut times are very poor right now due to my inexperience and ignorance.

My main question to you guys is: How powerful are the 3d modeling capabilities in Aspire. None of the videos I have seen shows the answers I am looking for. Do people use Aspire for advanced 3d modeling or do they have to use another program such as Rhino/Solidworks/Fusion360 and import the finished models into Aspire for toolpathing? Am I better off spending my money on one of these and just keep using Vcarve Pro?
Old 08-30-2017, 09:32 PM
CNC Tech & Trainer

Justin...
We have discussed this before and it should be easier now for you to see the differences between the various software titles. Aspire is not the best package for your spear guns. In your case Vectric's "top down" pixel based machining strategy will not allow some of the advanced machining strategies that you will require.

Solidworks will be much more appropriate, especially since you have the designs started there already. Rhino is also very capable, but I would be hesitant to recommend Fusion 360 as they don't seem to have the CAM tie in up to speed for the sub 100K machines yet.