CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Tips & Techniques > CAMaster Routed Signmaking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-17-2018, 05:33 AM
T.R.MacMunn T.R.MacMunn is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mtn.Grove Ontario
Posts: 2,160
Default Wedding Gift

15" in diameter ..... Corafoam U200
I had no idea how to get "crisp" edges on the "C" so I handcarved it. I assumed it would have to be modeled, & although modeling works nicely on organic elements, It seems to "round over" stuff that needs sharp edges.
The handcarving & sanding out of toolmarks took about 20 minutes total.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Chard.jpg (91.7 KB, 104 views)
__________________
TR
www.trmacsigns.com
CAMaster MC4836 named Jemima
Aspire 3.5
Mach3
CoreldrawX3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-17-2018, 08:55 AM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 34
Default

Super nice looking sign. Not quite sure what you're referring to as crisp edges on the C, but try the "Prism toolpath" in aspire and it should do what you're looking for with the right vbit.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-17-2018, 09:18 AM
drummerjg drummerjg is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Addison, PA
Posts: 541
Default

Your usual excellent job, TR. Very nice indeed.
__________________
Joe Garber
Retired Hobbyist
Stinger 1 SR24
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
Indexing Lathe
WinCNC
Aspire 9
trommlerjg@gmail.com


How to count to 10 in Windows:
1,2,3,95,NT,2000,XP,Vista,7,8,10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-17-2018, 09:20 AM
BradyWatson BradyWatson is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: 1 hour South of Philly
Posts: 270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarwes View Post
Super nice looking sign. Not quite sure what you're referring to as crisp edges on the C, but try the "Prism toolpath" in aspire and it should do what you're looking for with the right vbit.
If you use a prismatic toolpath, it will erode the edges of the bar that goes across with the V-bit...

TR - Nice work. For jobs where edge crispness is important, AND you are doing 3D work, you need to jack up the modelling resolution & keep the overall size of the project/workspace small. In other words, don't make the workspace 4x8' if the sign is only 12x12". There is no effect on quality with v-carve, prismatic or other 2D or 2.5D toolpaths...ONLY 3D.

To jack up the res, hold the shift key and keep it down when you create a new model. This will open up 20x and 50x resolution in the drop down. Default max is 7x...which is not enough for many things 3D.

Also be sure to jack up the toolpath simulation quality because the default setting tends to be too coarse/sloppy for visualizing 3D work - and edges appear washed out.

-B
__________________
IBILD Solutions - High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-17-2018, 09:51 AM
Jim_in_PA Jim_in_PA is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 585
Default

That's a really beautiful commemorative sign, TR! My nephew is getting married soon and I may think about creating something similar for he and his bride...great idea!
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-17-2018, 06:56 PM
T.R.MacMunn T.R.MacMunn is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mtn.Grove Ontario
Posts: 2,160
Default

Brady said...
If you use a prismatic toolpath, it will erode the edges of the bar that goes across with the V-bit...

This is correct, & the reason why I pulled out the gouges & carving knife.. Plus, I wanted a constant return height, & with a variable stroke width, the angle has to change.
BTW, Brady, thanks for the clarification on 3D "crispness". the last time I did anything 3D on the router, Tim Merrill walked me through it. So, I'm certainly not in practice ....
__________________
TR
www.trmacsigns.com
CAMaster MC4836 named Jemima
Aspire 3.5
Mach3
CoreldrawX3

Last edited by T.R.MacMunn; 08-17-2018 at 06:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-18-2018, 07:40 AM
BradyWatson BradyWatson is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: 1 hour South of Philly
Posts: 270
Default

TR - no sweat. If you need help with the 3D stuff let me know. It's been my focus for almost 20 years...

-B
__________________
IBILD Solutions - High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-21-2018, 06:12 AM
neal_meyers_jr neal_meyers_jr is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Guyton, Ga
Posts: 636
Send a message via Skype™ to neal_meyers_jr
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by BradyWatson View Post


Also be sure to jack up the toolpath simulation quality because the default setting tends to be too coarse/sloppy for visualizing 3D work - and edges appear washed out.

-B
Where is this setting Brady. I gave a quick look but do not see it. I knew where the X20 X50 setting but not the tool path???
__________________
Owner with Recoil



Neal Meyers Jr
Guyton Ga
Aspire 4.0, WinCNC, Rhino, Mastercam, Autocad, Catia.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-21-2018, 06:45 AM
BradyWatson BradyWatson is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: 1 hour South of Philly
Posts: 270
Default

Neal,
It's under the Toolpaths menu.
Attached Images
File Type: png SimQuality.png (8.7 KB, 15 views)
__________________
IBILD Solutions - High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-21-2018, 06:50 AM
neal_meyers_jr neal_meyers_jr is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Guyton, Ga
Posts: 636
Send a message via Skype™ to neal_meyers_jr
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by BradyWatson View Post
Neal,
It's under the Toolpaths menu.
Yes, Yes it is......Thank you
__________________
Owner with Recoil



Neal Meyers Jr
Guyton Ga
Aspire 4.0, WinCNC, Rhino, Mastercam, Autocad, Catia.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.