CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Stinger Series CNC Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2017, 06:37 PM
Load-Ready Load-Ready is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 11
Thumbs down "Steps" in profile issue

Hey guys, I'm new to this forum and to CNC work, so I apologize in advanced if some of my terminology isn't spot on. I have attached three pictures of the steps I am talking about. "IMG 1" is of the left side of the sheet I cut the piece out of, IMG 2 and 3 are of the right side of the piece I cut out. This initially started happening when some material I was cutting wasn't clamped down securely and got pulled up on to the bit which caused very excessive vibrations. I talked to Michael at Camaster and he instructed me to check the set screws on gears on the X axis transmission. That helped a little but we still ended up ordering a brand new transmission because the issue was still there. Even after the new X axis transmission the problem proceeded. I then took both Y axis transmissions apart, tightening the same set screws and generally going over everything looking for any obvious issues but found nothing. The X axis seems to wander slightly to the right (X positive) after each pass. The placard says we have a stinger, model number PT-404, yet the front of the control panel says Panther. So I'm not too sure exactly what machine we have, it has a 4x4 cutting capacity. We could use all the help we can get so thank you in advance for the advice.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG 1.jpg (92.7 KB, 95 views)
File Type: jpg IMG 2.jpg (92.7 KB, 94 views)
File Type: jpg IMG 3.jpg (90.2 KB, 96 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2017, 08:00 PM
crosetti crosetti is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 23
Default

the control panel for my stinger says Cobra, that's just advertising Camasters latest product I thought, though reading other replies it seems as if I'm wrong.

It looks like the stepper motor is losing steps somewhere. My stinger does this once in a blue moon, but never repeatedly. I chalked it up to static electricity or trying to run it too fast. There are far better educated people than I on this board who will chime in...

It might be an optical illusion, but in the 3rd picture it seems as if the radius of the corners are different in the two "steps". Are you mistakenly cutting 2 toolpaths?
__________________
John Crosetti

Stinger III, 3.0 KW Spindle, Hurricane Vacuum
Aspire 9

Last edited by crosetti; 10-20-2017 at 04:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2017, 11:09 AM
Kyle Stapleton Kyle Stapleton is offline
CAMhead Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: River Falls, WI
Posts: 234
Default

You need to tell a lot more info.
What is your Feed rate x,y and z?
What is your depth of cut?
What are you cutting?
What bit are you using?
What are your RPMs?
Are you cutting climb or conventional?
__________________
Kyle Stapleton
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2017, 11:55 AM
Charlie_L Charlie_L is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: La Crosse, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,250
Default

I would start reading Gary's post on static discharge prevention.
http://camheads.org/showthread.php?t=8650
__________________
Charlie L
Stinger II, 48 by 48, 1.7 kW Spindle, FTC + Laser + Recoil + Vacuum, July 2012
WinCNC 2.5.03, Aspire 4, PhotoVCarve, Windows 7 Pro SP1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2017, 01:04 PM
mike.davison mike.davison is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bolton, Massachusetts
Posts: 382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Load-Ready View Post
The placard says we have a stinger, model number PT-404, yet the front of the control panel says Panther.
Mmmmm.... A PT-404 is a Panther. The 4x4 Stinger is an SR-44. Does 'placard' mean the computer screen? If so, it sounds like your WinCNC configuration needs at least one correction as what you see on the screen is highly configurable. Since this is a new machine it would be wise to speak to CAMaster support about, at least, correcting the WinCNC configuration.
__________________
Mike Davison
Stinger II 4x4, Recoil, spindle, FTC, Aspire, Sketchup
http://www.DavisonWoodworks.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-24-2017, 12:09 AM
Load-Ready Load-Ready is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 11
Default

Wow, sorry guys, I was checking the wrong email for notifications from this thread. Thanks for all the replies.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Stapleton View Post
You need to tell a lot more info.
What is your Feed rate x,y and z?
What is your depth of cut?
What are you cutting?
What bit are you using?
What are your RPMs?
Are you cutting climb or conventional?
I have been playing with the Feed rate and the issue happens no matter the rate. These pictures are of type 1 PVC. Pass depth is usually .05 with a 1/4" end mill. RPM's are 15,000 with 80 IPM for x/y and 10 for z. I have been experimenting with feed rates, rpm's and all those parameters to see how it will affect my issue and the overall cut quality. The "steps" are persistent no matter the parameters.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-24-2017, 12:12 AM
Load-Ready Load-Ready is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike.davison View Post
Mmmmm.... A PT-404 is a Panther. The 4x4 Stinger is an SR-44. Does 'placard' mean the computer screen? If so, it sounds like your WinCNC configuration needs at least one correction as what you see on the screen is highly configurable. Since this is a new machine it would be wise to speak to CAMaster support about, at least, correcting the WinCNC configuration.
The placard is on the back left hand corner of the CNC's frame. It contains the model, serial number and other things pertaining to that specific CNC. I looked at Camaster's website because I was confused about the model, but the placard clearly says "Stinger" and PT-404 right underneath it. This machine is not new, by the way. Our company purchased it second hand.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-24-2017, 12:14 AM
Load-Ready Load-Ready is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 11
Default

Also, for anyone else wondering, half of this profile was done with an 1/8" end mill and the bottom half of it was done with a 1/4" end mill. That is why you can see a difference in the steps size half way through the cut.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-24-2017, 12:17 AM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,336
Default

If you have eliminated all mechanical causes, then the cause id most likely static.

You may want to try a single "O" flute bit at your current feeds and speeds and possibly double or triple the pass depth

I also suggest that you post a picture of how your dust collection is attached to your machines dustfoot.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-24-2017, 12:22 AM
Load-Ready Load-Ready is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 11
Default

When I get to the shop in the morning I will make sure to get a picture of the dust collector setup. Does it make sense to disconnect the dust collector and see if the steps are still there? We haven't taken any steps to dissipate static yet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inaccurate cuts, steps, stinger

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.