CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Software > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2017, 08:38 AM
Steve Burke Steve Burke is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 14
Default Wincnc

For the Wincnc control screen, where it shows the tool position, is it possible to add a section for distance to go in X, Y and Z?
I run a large cnc machine at work with a Fanuc controller and it has that feature (as do all other industrial machines) and this would be great for Stinger.

Last edited by Steve Burke; 08-03-2017 at 09:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2017, 10:32 AM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 3,353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Burke View Post
For the Wincnc control screen, where it shows the tool position, is it possible to add a section for distance to go in X, Y and Z?
I run a large cnc machine at work with a Fanuc controller and it has that feature (as do all other industrial machines) and this would be great for Stinger.
Sorry I am not sure I understand the question, Wincnc shows the router/spindle XY and Z position either relative to machine zero (lower left hand corner) of a local zero (depending where your X0Y0 is set).
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 8 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
http://dropc.am/p/eaLXUP
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2017, 11:08 AM
Steve Burke Steve Burke is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 14
Default

With a Fanuc controller it gives you the coordinates as to where the tool is relative to the table (For a mill), it also gives you distance to go where the program is sending it too, such as from X0Y0 to X5Y5.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2017, 02:23 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,365
Default

Steve...
All of those features are available with WinCNC, just maybe not in the method you are accustomed to.

"is it possible to add a section for distance to go in X, Y and Z?"

Yes, enter G91 mode. assume you are at x position 3.867. When in G91 mode (relative) type in X 12 and you will move to x 15.867 Don't forget to swap back to G90 (absolute mode)

As an alternative you can use the L91 command which is a 1 time relative move.

"With a Fanuc controller it gives you the coordinates as to where the tool is relative to the table"

I am assuming that you wish to see table coordinates instead of user coordinates. When use coordinates are in effect, there will be a green box shown next to that axes position. IF you wish to view the machine coordinates, click on the green box, turning it to red and the machine (absolute) coordinates will be shown.

All of these features and dozens, if not hundreds more are shown in the WinCNC manual. If there is not a link to it on your desktop, there may be on your Stinger screen by clicking on the WinCNC logo or "manual" buttons. IF not, then you can create a link to the manual which is located in the C:\WinCNC folder named "WinCNC.PDF"
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-08-2017, 10:56 AM
Ger21 Ger21 is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Posts: 214
Default

Quote:
"is it possible to add a section for distance to go in X, Y and Z?"
I believe that he's looking for a DRO that counts down the distance to the end of the current move.
Say you first did a G0 X0 Y0.
Then a G1 X12. The DRO should count from 12 down to 0.

Or, I'm completely mistaken.
__________________
Gerry

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-08-2017, 12:56 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,365
Default

IF that is the case, then no.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-08-2017, 02:02 PM
Steve Burke Steve Burke is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 14
Default

Yes, that is what I was looking for.
Thank you for the replies.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.