CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Stinger Series CNC Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2014, 08:24 PM
Timberwolf Design Timberwolf Design is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 39
Default HELP PLEASE I need to Calibrate my laser

I need help with my Stinger 1 CNC I was talking to Cam Master today as my laser was not properly calibrated I was off -.0625 on the X axis. I was talking to Robert and he had me go through in setting the X0Y0 withe laser and then he had me go in WIN CNC and make changes to the Laser Zero settings.
It was not setting properly so he said he would call me back. Now its 5:00 MST and they went home and my laser is not calibrated and I have a deadline HELP> SOME BODY help me set my laser right
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2014, 08:45 PM
richf richf is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 779
Default

As a workaround and since you know the offset - put the laser on point, zero XY, and then move the negative of the X offset. At this point, do the Laser X0Y0. Make sure to verify the direction of your offset by manually inspecting the bit alignment with the target.

Note, if the laser happens to have a slight vertical angle from perpendicular, the offset will vary somewhat based on material thickness. It all depends on the height the laser when it was originally calibrated. My laser is pretty short, so any offset is exaggerated by distance. I think it would be pretty easy to bump and knock it out of alignment.
__________________
Rich F.
PrecisionSignandPost.com
CAMaster Cobra 408 X3 w/Recoil
BobCAD v25 4th Axis
Corel Draw X5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-28-2014, 09:01 PM
rcrawford rcrawford is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,157
Default

Or bypass the laser all together for the weekend. Just centre your bit where you want it zero'd, and type in

G92 X0Y0
__________________
Russell Crawford
Cobra 408 ATC with recoil
Alberta, Canada
www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-28-2014, 09:04 PM
Michael Mezalick's Avatar
Michael Mezalick Michael Mezalick is offline
CAMaster Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,557
Default

Right, don't use the laser.. it's been done without for many years before...
It not hard to fix but it just takes a bit of time to get it correct.
Do it manually..better safe than sorry.
Michael
__________________
Michael Mezalick
Cobra, WINCNC

3-D Modeling
https://carveddetails.com/catalog-book/

mm@mezalick.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2014, 09:05 PM
eandico eandico is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,282
Default

Can't you set up your job. Not using your laser?

I don't know what machine you have but I have a 5x10 ATC with no laser at all and I do just fine.

Find a work around to get your job done.
__________________
Best,
Nick
www.theeandicompany.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-28-2014, 09:57 PM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 3,359
Default

Should only take a few minutes

- Install 1 V-bit into the router/spindle collect and tighten it.
- Jog the V-bit so it's 9" back from the front edge of the spoilboard (not really that important).
- Click on the button "Zero XY" (Check Wincnc and verify X and Y are 0 (zero)) Do not move X or Y until told to.
- Click on the button "Spindle On"
- Very slowly lower the V-Bit till it creates a small point in the spoilboard (the smaller the better. (use the increment buttons (.1 .01 .001).
Once you have made a mark on the spoilboard with e V-Bit, raise the bit off the spoilboard and turn off the spindle.
- Click on the "Laser On" button on the Wincnc screen (this will raise the router + laser to a specific height).
- Using the XY arrows (do not move Z) jog the point of the laser to the V-Bit mark on the spoilboard.
- Once you have the laser point on the V-Bit mark record the XY values off the Wincnc screen. Example X-0.756 Y2.66

Now we need to enter these values into the "laser_zero.mac"

- Click on Start
- My Computer
- Local Disk C
- Wincnc folder
- Macros folder
- Find the file called "laser_zero.mac"

Right mouse click on the file "laser_zero.mac" and select "Open With" Notepad

Here is an example:

L91X5.057 Y-4.513
G92X0Y0
L92
M12C5 [laser off]

Only change the highlighted red values

Here was your example Example X-0.756 Y2.66

Enter the reverse values into the "laser_zero.mac"
X.756 Y-2.66

+++ Finished +++

OR

Open the file "laser_zero.mac" and add 0.0625 to the X value.
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 8 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
http://dropc.am/p/eaLXUP
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!

Last edited by Mick Martin; 09-12-2014 at 12:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2014, 12:59 PM
Timberwolf Design Timberwolf Design is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 39
Default

Mick
Robert from camasters had me do the exact same thing and had me go into the WINCN Laser Zero and change the Coords. But then when we told the machine to go back to the spot on the spoil board the it was off the mark. We did check to make sure I didn't have the OFFSET command in VCARVE set and it wasn't.

Robert told me he had to check with someone in Tech support and they would get back to me becouse he thought there was something drastically wrong if it would not hold the setting. Camaster did not call me back and left me hanging for the weekend
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2014, 01:39 PM
Terry Williams Terry Williams is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 196
Default

A couple of questions:

When you "told the machine to go back to the spot on the spoil board" did you do that more than once and if so, did it go to the same "incorrect" spot everytime?

If your maching goes to the exact place every time, then all you have to do is manually adjust the figures in your offset until it ends up where you expect it to.

If it goes to a different "incorrect" location every time, then you may have other issues with your installation or hardware like electrical noise or loose parts etc.
__________________
Terry Williams
Cobra 510 with Recoil
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-01-2014, 01:47 PM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 3,359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timberwolf Design View Post
Mick
Robert from camasters had me do the exact same thing and had me go into the WINCN Laser Zero and change the Coords. But then when we told the machine to go back to the spot on the spoil board the it was off the mark. We did check to make sure I didn't have the OFFSET command in VCARVE set and it wasn't.

Robert told me he had to check with someone in Tech support and they would get back to me becouse he thought there was something drastically wrong if it would not hold the setting. Camaster did not call me back and left me hanging for the weekend
This setting has nothing to do with V-Carve. it has nothing to do with any program, the laser is only used to position the router bit.

Basic use of the laser

- Place a piece of material on the spoilboard and clamp it down.
- Click on the button "Laser On"
- Using the XY arrow keys, jog the laser pointer till the laser dot is on the corner of your material.
- Click on the button "Laser X0Y0" the center of the collet will now move to where the laser was pointing.
- You might need to click the button "Laser Off" or the machine might do it automatically depending on the way your files are setup.

Finished ........ it has nothing to do with any design software.

all you are doing with the laser is setting X0Y0, it's the same as clicking on the button "Zero XY" except it set X0Y0 where the laser WAS pointing

If you have any question feel free to give me a call 206 two two six 8344

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timberwolf Design View Post
Camaster did not call me back and left me hanging for the weekend
This is why the forum is so good because members help each other out.
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 8 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
http://dropc.am/p/eaLXUP
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-01-2014, 03:56 PM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 3,359
Default

Another option;

1. Turn on the laser and move the point to a good spot on the table and mark it clearly but with a small dot.

2. Type G92X0Y0 into Wincnc and press Enter or click "ZerotXY" button. That sets the current XY position to 0,0.

3. With a vbit in the router, move the tool tip until it is sitting on the mark you just made.

4. Record the values that are shown for X and for Y.

5. Make sure you get the sign correctly on the axes. Example: If You get X-3 and Y2, make sure you get the negative sign on the X value. It's really important that you get those right. also copy your current "laser_zero.mac" and email it to me (email address in my signature block) or JohnnyCNC at cncjohnny@gmail.com.
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 8 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
http://dropc.am/p/eaLXUP
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.