CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-17-2017, 05:27 PM
jbiddle jbiddle is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 157
Default Computer turning itself on

Hey,
Our Panther computer occasionally turn itself on, maybe 2-3 times per week. It appears to be random and not while turning other machines off/on. It's on a dedicated circuit with only the computer, monitor and a router plugged in. We have been leaving an ethernet connection open so we can Download files via Dropbox. Everything on that computer is CNC related (WinCNC and VCarvePro, mostly).

Any idea as to what might be causing it?
__________________
James Biddle
Previous CNC-Panther PT-408
15HP FPZ regen w/starter
Auto relief valve
Vectric Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-17-2017, 07:42 PM
tmouse tmouse is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 105
Default

Do you have wake on lan set up in the bios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-18-2017, 08:50 AM
jbiddle jbiddle is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmouse View Post
Do you have wake on lan set up in the bios
Not sure, how do I check that?
__________________
James Biddle
Previous CNC-Panther PT-408
15HP FPZ regen w/starter
Auto relief valve
Vectric Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-18-2017, 03:41 PM
tmouse tmouse is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 105
Default

I am not sure what computer you are using but at the splash screen you need to press a key or combo of keys. You can google how to access your bios
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-18-2017, 06:13 PM
jbiddle jbiddle is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmouse View Post
I am not sure what computer you are using but at the splash screen you need to press a key or combo of keys. You can google how to access your bios
The only combo that's worked so far was F12 which came to a password entry. I never set that up. The support person was helpful, but was also a predominantly a Mac guy as well and didn't know how to access it either, but said he could call the computer company if needed.

Is F12 the right startup key and is the computer setup password protected?
__________________
James Biddle
Previous CNC-Panther PT-408
15HP FPZ regen w/starter
Auto relief valve
Vectric Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-18-2017, 06:56 PM
de5 de5 is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Honea Path, SC
Posts: 912
Default

On my computer it is F11. Keep tapping it as the computer is rebooting until it brings up the menu.
__________________
Charlie Hind
Cobra 404 ATC with 12 tool positions & 4th Axis (2012-present)
(2006-2012 - K2 CNC... sold in 2012 to buy the Cobra)
WinCNC
www.hindocarina.com
http://facebook.com/hindocarina
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-18-2017, 08:50 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,702
Default

Try [DEL] or [F2]

Word of warning: Write down what you change. If you mess up the BIOS settings and cant get it back running, you will have to send the computer in.

There should be only a few things that will turn on the computer. Updates, if set that way, backup, also if set that way and "wake on lan". You may be inadvertently starting it by attempting to transfer files when it is shut down.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"

Last edited by Gary Campbell; 08-18-2017 at 08:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-19-2017, 10:41 AM
keithrhyde keithrhyde is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Winchester, Virginia
Posts: 272
Default Fwiw

Gary is correct, don't mess with BIOS unless you know what your doing. You can check the LAN wake up by going to start and click on device manager then go to network adapters then right click on the adapter to get properties and then click on power management than un-check the boxes.

My best suggestion for you is to google your problem and you will find many reasons why your computer is turning on. It would be easier for you to follow along that way. I pasted one such URL below. There are videos as well so with a little research you should be able to solve this yourself. I hope that helps you.

https://www.techwalla.com/articles/h...wake-up-on-lan

__________________
Keith Hyde, Winchester, VA
2016 Stinger 1, 1.7KW HF Spindle HSD
Performance Package Pro, Vac, lathe, Aspire 9
Former Marine and retired Seabee Master Chief.
Furniture is my hobby not my vocation.
hyde.consulting@comcast.net
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-20-2017, 09:14 PM
jbiddle jbiddle is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keithrhyde View Post
Gary is correct, don't mess with BIOS unless you know what your doing. You can check the LAN wake up by going to start and click on device manager then go to network adapters then right click on the adapter to get properties and then click on power management than un-check the boxes.

My best suggestion for you is to google your problem and you will find many reasons why your computer is turning on. It would be easier for you to follow along that way. I pasted one such URL below. There are videos as well so with a little research you should be able to solve this yourself. I hope that helps you.

https://www.techwalla.com/articles/h...wake-up-on-lan

Thank you, we found the setting under network card properties, advanced settings, power management tab. We didn't have to touch the bios. We'll monitor it for some time and make sure it works.
__________________
James Biddle
Previous CNC-Panther PT-408
15HP FPZ regen w/starter
Auto relief valve
Vectric Aspire
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.