CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Stinger Series CNC Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2018, 01:36 AM
Options Options is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hickory, PA
Posts: 51
Default Air Dryer

What type of dryer do you have on your compressed air?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2018, 09:43 AM
de5 de5 is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Honea Path, SC
Posts: 907
Default

I'm using a Quincy QPNC 15. Have it mounted above the compressor to save space.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg drier.jpg (60.9 KB, 87 views)
__________________
Charlie Hind
Cobra 404 ATC with 12 tool positions & 4th Axis (2012-present)
(2006-2012 - K2 CNC... sold in 2012 to buy the Cobra)
WinCNC
www.hindocarina.com
http://facebook.com/hindocarina

Last edited by de5; 04-16-2018 at 09:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2018, 10:00 AM
Jim_in_PA Jim_in_PA is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 429
Default

I have a dryer just post compressor and added an small, auxiliary drier/moisture filter on the drop for the CNC. I also have a small, auxiliary drier/moisture filter on my finish spraying drop.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44, 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2018, 11:35 AM
Todd W Todd W is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Hillsborough, NC
Posts: 56
Default

Jim,
Are you using two electric air driers? That'd be a lot. (never mind, re-read and see the second is a filter type)

Options,

I had a small electric one I found on CL that had been in a college science lab for years. It was good for 8 to 10 CMF at 100 psi, but I never used it. Instead I went low tech, plumbing in a 50' coil of 1/2" copper in a descending spiral between the pump and my compressor's tank as an after cooler. It has a larger bore vertical pipe or two after the coil, with a small water collection "leg". Pretty standard DIY design.

One of my home brew air cleaners blows air over the coils, which can get very hot at the top 10 feet when the compressor is running constantly for say sand blasting something. But the coil is fairly cool long before the bottom of the coil and a lot of water drops out. I do have some little water traps after the tank too, but no electric drier anymore. I only had it for finish spraying and the after-cooler is enough for my small set up. My compressor is only a 60 gallon single stage, so good 11 or 12 CFM at 90 psi, and I'm not spraying a lot of 2k auto finishes where I need very cool dry air.

How many CFM are you needing to cool/dry, and do you already have a good after-cooler on your compressor? I am guessing this is for a tool changer. Is that correct?

Todd

Last edited by Todd W; 04-16-2018 at 11:40 AM. Reason: re-read
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-16-2018, 12:23 PM
Options Options is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hickory, PA
Posts: 51
Default

Not sure what I will need. I've got a lot to do before i move my shop to the garage and just trying to cover all of the bases before I finish the electrical work and start insulating.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2018, 02:51 PM
de5 de5 is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Honea Path, SC
Posts: 907
Default

Todd, I made one of those DIY coils before I got this drier. When the compressor cycled off, the check valve would vent the air, but it took about 10 seconds instead of a quick hiss. I kept having check valve go bad. I replaced it 3 times in one year then finally got tired of it and bought the Quincy drier. Haven't had another check valve go bad in 3 years.
I'm just curious if you have had to replace your check valve.
__________________
Charlie Hind
Cobra 404 ATC with 12 tool positions & 4th Axis (2012-present)
(2006-2012 - K2 CNC... sold in 2012 to buy the Cobra)
WinCNC
www.hindocarina.com
http://facebook.com/hindocarina
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-16-2018, 05:07 PM
EnvisionIT EnvisionIT is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 21
Default

This is something I never thought of...

I have a PneumaticPlus 3 stage air drying system just after the compressor the specs say it can pass 43 SCFM @ 90 psi...

I have a 5 hp Quincy air compressor that delivers 15 cfm at 90 psi.

Do I need a refrigerated unit or will the above unit suffice?
__________________
Signpro 408 / 5HP ATC Spindle
Oscillating Tangential Knife
Laser Pointer / Mister System /Remote Keypad
15HP FPZ Vacuum
Alco 200 Dust collector

WinCNC 3.0 / Aspire v9 / PhotoVCarve

It's a hobby with some very expensive toys!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-16-2018, 05:38 PM
Jim_in_PA Jim_in_PA is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 429
Default

Todd, I'm not using any kind of "active" air drying...just moisture filtration. My system stays pretty dry as it is because of the auto-drain, and the filter units seem to pick anything else up really well for years now.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44, 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-16-2018, 06:09 PM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 3,394
Default

I use an air dryer, the brand I have is Ingersoll Rand, air dryers come in two configurations preheated and non-preheated.
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 9 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-16-2018, 09:38 PM
Rlee1972 Rlee1972 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 387
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnvisionIT View Post

Do I need a refrigerated unit or will the above unit suffice?
While I do not want to put words in Mr. Charlie Hind's mouth, if my feeble memory serves me correctly, he reminded me shortly after our CAMaster arrived that HSD would not warrant spindles damaged due to moisture in the lines. I would much rather have the Quincy unit instead of our Harbor Freight model but I needed to be cutting and the Quincy unit was two weeks away. I didn't think I could wait. I don't know what environment you are in geographically but down here in the deep south, even the bugs sweat nearly year round. Small investment in the long run.......imo.
__________________
Ron Lee
Blackshear, Ga
2017 CAMaster PT-408
HSD 5HP ATC
6 Tool Rotary Carousel
Recoil Lathe
Laser
Aspire 9.0


On order:
Cobra Elite 5 x 10 ATC
20 Tool Holder
25HP Regen Vac

"You never learn anything by doing it right."
If that were true, I would be one of the most intelligent people you would ever meet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.