CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > The File Swap Meet > Vectric 3D Files

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2013, 06:37 PM
TErb2012 TErb2012 is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Quantico, VA
Posts: 52
Default Dish assistance please

All,

Good afternoon, I'm having a problem with a project that I am working on and I was looking for assistance. I've tried to figure it out myself with no luck and I'm to the point of frustration. The problem I am having with the dish is along the edge where the vector protrudes above the top of the dish which is where I want them to stop and merge at. I created a zero plane in hopes this would solve my problem which it didn't and I've attempted to sculpt them with very poor results. My desire is to have them merge with the top edge of the dish without protruding above it. I know I can resize the image so it will fit within my dish however; I really donít want to do that due to the image stopping short of the edge and it not having a very neat appearance. And if I adjust the Z Height the .22 inches that it sits above the dish it creates a lip of that same dimension all the way around the dish which I don't want. I've also tried the multiply mode which achieves my desired end state along the edges however it increases the size of the image in the dish to an undesirable height. If you have any recommendation or know how I can achieve this please let me know.


Thank you for your time.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Edge.jpg (18.2 KB, 105 views)
File Type: jpg Edge 2.jpg (18.7 KB, 97 views)
__________________
Terry Erb
CAMaster Stinger 1, Recoil, Spindle
Aspire 4.5
WinCNC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2013, 06:41 PM
rcrawford rcrawford is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,170
Default

Try this; rather than a zero plane, make a solid model, the thickness you want the whole project to be, and then choose 'merge lowest points' setting.
__________________
Russell Crawford
Cobra 408 ATC with recoil
Alberta, Canada
www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2013, 07:14 PM
TErb2012 TErb2012 is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Quantico, VA
Posts: 52
Default

Could you please provide just a bit more guidance, not exactley sure what you mean.

Thanks.
__________________
Terry Erb
CAMaster Stinger 1, Recoil, Spindle
Aspire 4.5
WinCNC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2013, 07:22 PM
Mark Meyer Mark Meyer is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 298
Default

I use Rhino rather than Aspire, but I found, as you are, that I would have trouble converting through the CAM process unless I created a full 3D model on which the CAM program would "read".

I know that may not be the precise answer you want, but I hope it starts you thinking in another direction for your solution.
In short, make sure your full model is complete with all the little loose ends tied up nice and neat. Then try CAMing it for output and see what you get.
You might have some open curves or some such hindrance that's putting a hitch in your git-a-long.
__________________
Timberline Mfg.
Cobra 512
10hp HSD Spindle
ATC-10 Tool
10" Gantry
Recoil
WinCNC
Rhino 5
MadCam 5
V-Carve Pro 7.0
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2013, 04:56 AM
Michael Mezalick's Avatar
Michael Mezalick Michael Mezalick is offline
CAMaster Owner, (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,628
Default

Terry,
There is a new feature in Aspire 4 that will solve this issue.
It's an option in how components interact with each other.
You already know about the "add " and "merge" feature, this new feature is called mulitply.
I think it would be on the trial version..

Michael
Attached Images
File Type: jpg merge.JPG (23.9 KB, 34 views)
__________________
Michael Mezalick
Cobra, WINCNC

3-D Modeling
https://carveddetails.com

mm@mezalick.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.