CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Cobra CNC Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2018, 05:59 PM
JIMMYR1RIDER JIMMYR1RIDER is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 17
Default Finally, after 2 years it's time. Have a question for the technical ones here.

So, after a loooooong debacle of 2 years basically with my utility company and other issues to get through. Meaning money(cost an extra 10k) the transformer for the second electrical service is being installed July 9th.

That means I'll FINALLY be hooking up my cobra soon. I have a friend that works on cnc machines and he brought up a question that I never knew may apply so I'm asking.

Do the machines have a battery back up that must keep a charge in order to keep the factory settings stored that may give me issues if it's gone dead and will require files being re entered? Or will there be no issues? Just want to be ready for the unexpected is all.

Thanks for any help in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2018, 07:31 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,702
Default

Jimmy...
Only in the PC. For the most part if you start up the computer and the date is correct, you should be good to go. All the settings are on the hard drive.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2018, 07:33 PM
JIMMYR1RIDER JIMMYR1RIDER is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Campbell View Post
Jimmy...
Only in the PC. For the most part if you start up the computer and the date is correct, you should be good to go. All the settings are on the hard drive.
Awesome thanks Gary. I should have just pm'd you, you were the main o e I was hoping would respond.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2018, 08:17 AM
The real JP The real JP is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 224
Default

Speaking of battery backups. A ups ( uninterruptible power source ) for your pc is some cheap insurance.

One from walmart will work fine, just make sure it has 20 min or so of runtime.

The battery Gary is talking about is on the motherboard, I had to change on in a 10yr old pc once... so they last a while.
__________________
Jpscustomshop@gmail.com

Industrial electrician by day, Cabinet and furniture maker by evening and weekend. Cnc newb.

June 2017 Stinger 3 SR48
3kw spindle, FTC, Laser, Recoil, Hurricane
V Carve, Mozaik
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-30-2018, 03:01 PM
JIMMYR1RIDER JIMMYR1RIDER is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The real JP View Post
Speaking of battery backups. A ups ( uninterruptible power source ) for your pc is some cheap insurance.

One from walmart will work fine, just make sure it has 20 min or so of runtime.

The battery Gary is talking about is on the motherboard, I had to change on in a 10yr old pc once... so they last a while.
Yeah I knew about the PC battery. Nothing has been powered up, not even the computer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-30-2018, 10:00 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,702
Default

If by some rare chance the CMOS battery is dead, get the number and replace it. If the computer does not reboot properly, contact CAMaster tech support
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-01-2018, 10:19 PM
JIMMYR1RIDER JIMMYR1RIDER is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Campbell View Post
If by some rare chance the CMOS battery is dead, get the number and replace it. If the computer does not reboot properly, contact CAMaster tech support
Thanks Gary. You always seem to have the answers people need.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.