CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Recoil Indexing Lathe (4th Axis)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2017, 01:30 PM
TimPa TimPa is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: nw pa
Posts: 26
Default recoil?

just curious why they coin the term "recoil" index lathe. is it because the lathe (controller) has to apply an opposite force to the cutting force being applied to keep the blank still/motionless?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-18-2017, 01:41 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,358
Default

Tim...
Its just a "name" that was given to the rotary fixture. Years ago, and it stuck
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.