CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Cobra CNC Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2017, 01:20 PM
Mario Martin Mario Martin is offline
CAMhead Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 4
Default New Camaster Cobra ATC Owner - "Error Boundary Exceeded [ Z-]"

"Error Boundary Exceeded [ Z-]" is the issue that plagues me. My machine is a Cobra CR-404 ATC. I have pretty much gotten the hang of everything else, and I'm proficient with Vectric products. I'm using the PP : CAMaster ToolChange INCH (*.tap)
I am cutting guitar bodies that are 1.75" thick, I'm setting my Z from the bottom of material, so that I can zero off the spoilboard using the tool length switch on the Cobra. (see attached image). My Cobra is brand new, and I've only been running tests now for about a week. Since doing the following: surfacing the spoilboard, calibrating switch, and measuring tools - here is my routine now:

1. Initialize
2. Warm Up
3. Load Program
4. Run Program
5. Get "Error Boundary Exceeded [ Z-]" error as the last couple of passes are being run on the body cutout toolpath.
6. Pull my hair out.

Please tell me what methods I need to use so that I can run these programs on my ATC Cobra.
[B][SIZE="4"]
__________________
Mario Martin
Cobra CR-404 w/ ATC
WinCNC
Vectric
CAMaster ToolChange INCH (*.tap)
marioguitars.com
guitarmill.com
Murfreesboro, TN 37130
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2017, 01:40 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,235
Default

Mario...
Can you post the TAP file? As you present them, all things are as I would expect. The depth of cut and your "lobound" settings are what I question.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos
www.cncseminars.com

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2017, 02:19 PM
Mario Martin Mario Martin is offline
CAMhead Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 4
Default

G1 x8.316388 y21.972836 z0.292000
g1 x8.298854 y21.962627 z0.292000
g1 x8.286873 y21.956490 z0.292000
g1 x8.274618 y21.951021 z0.292000
g1 x8.262116 y21.946224 z0.292000
__________________
Mario Martin
Cobra CR-404 w/ ATC
WinCNC
Vectric
CAMaster ToolChange INCH (*.tap)
marioguitars.com
guitarmill.com
Murfreesboro, TN 37130

Last edited by Mario Martin; 02-24-2017 at 04:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2017, 04:55 PM
Mario Martin Mario Martin is offline
CAMhead Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks to Michael Skene at Camaster, I think we got it figured out. The "lobound" settings needed changing. Thanks Gary and Michael! ...... Now, onto my next question! :
Is there a feature in WinCNC that automatically offsets / adds multiples for doing mass production of the same part? I know that I can always draw and program the part that way, but my other CNC router runs off of Win-PCNC and that software has a "mass production" feature that does this. Any ideas?
__________________
Mario Martin
Cobra CR-404 w/ ATC
WinCNC
Vectric
CAMaster ToolChange INCH (*.tap)
marioguitars.com
guitarmill.com
Murfreesboro, TN 37130
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2017, 07:04 PM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 3,336
Default

Your "Error Boundary Exceeded [ Z-]" message .... I have my low boundary setting is set to 0 (zero) I never cut into my spoilboard even doing a profile cut. I just set my depth of cut to the material thickness it cuts through the part with no problem.
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 8 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
http://dropc.am/p/eaLXUP
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2017, 07:32 PM
rcrawford rcrawford is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,137
Default

There is an array feature in WinCNC. I haven't used it for a while, but it explains it in the WinCNC manual. I started a thread on it a few years ago. You can set up any size of array, and set the x and y offsets for the array.
__________________
Russell Crawford
Cobra 408 ATC with recoil
Alberta, Canada
www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-08-2017, 08:36 PM
Carter Whyte Carter Whyte is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ballston Spa
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcrawford View Post
There is an array feature in WinCNC. I haven't used it for a while, but it explains it in the WinCNC manual. I started a thread on it a few years ago. You can set up any size of array, and set the x and y offsets for the array.
I used this function A LOT a year and a half or so ago. I can't remember the specifics behind it; but the manual explains it well. I went from designing 4'x8' sheets with 100 parts on them to designing 1 part and using the array feature. It was so easy to code; I remembered how to do it from memory after the 4th or 5th file. I'm currently on my laptop and don't have WinCNC or would give a quick preview for you.
__________________
Steel Cobra 510 ATC
Lathe, phenolic top, vacuum and gantry lift
Ballston Spa, NY
C. T. Whyte LLC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-10-2017, 09:54 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,235
Default

It has been noted on a Vectric site that this feature will be available in the upcoming version 9. Toolpath one instance, set the X and Y offsets for multiples and ....voila!

I've used it, and it works well. Worth waiting for.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos
www.cncseminars.com

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-02-2017, 01:14 AM
Carter Whyte Carter Whyte is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ballston Spa
Posts: 64
Default

Aspire and VCarve upgrade teasers at the philly conference have had me on the edge of my seat since!!
__________________
Steel Cobra 510 ATC
Lathe, phenolic top, vacuum and gantry lift
Ballston Spa, NY
C. T. Whyte LLC
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-02-2017, 07:13 PM
Mario Martin Mario Martin is offline
CAMhead Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 4
Default

Wow! So glad to hear this!
__________________
Mario Martin
Cobra CR-404 w/ ATC
WinCNC
Vectric
CAMaster ToolChange INCH (*.tap)
marioguitars.com
guitarmill.com
Murfreesboro, TN 37130
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
array, lobound

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.