CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Stinger Series CNC Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-2016, 02:15 PM
John Palir John Palir is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 46
Default Soft Limit Low Y - Help Needed

I ran 2 patterns perfect one day. Nothing out of the ordinary. I initialized several times that day.

I start the machine again and run my patterns the next day or day after and get "Soft Limit Low Y". Now the spindle will not come up to factory X0, Y0. It will only come up as far as the attached photo shows. About 12 inches from the front of the machine.

Did I lose factory setting somehow? How do restore them? Screenshots attached as well.

If I send the gantry to the back of the machine it seems the gantry goes to0 far and wants to jump off the track.

I have a camera on the machine and remote access.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot - Soft Limit Low Y.jpg (39.9 KB, 40 views)
File Type: jpg Position at Front of Machine.jpg (38.7 KB, 39 views)
__________________
Stinger III SR-48
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7 KW Spindle
Extra 2" Gantry Lift
T-Tracks
Dust Collection
Web Cam
Aspire
WINcnc
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-15-2016, 06:13 PM
Pete Cyr Pete Cyr is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Suffolk VA
Posts: 382
Default

see your PM
__________________
Pete Cyr
CAMaster Stinger II SR-34 - 1.7KW - FTC
Aspire, WINCNC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2016, 06:15 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,655
Default

John...
If you look in the Position Indicator on your WinCNC screen you can see that there is a green box next to the Y and Z. This means that you have placed a user offset on the Y and Z axes.

To remove the offset on the Y, and get back to the machine (ABS) coordinates, type in "G92.1Y" and press enter. That will allow the user offset (temp Z zero) to remain in place for the Z. If you wish to remove all user offsets, type in "G92"

You can initialize as many times as you like, but until you turn off the offsets, they will remain in place.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2016, 10:00 PM
John Palir John Palir is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 46
Default Fixed

Thanks guys. We found the issue.

The cable connecting the desktop computer to the CNC computer was not making good contact. This cable connection seems to be a weak point on my machine and has been the source of any problem I have had with the machine to date.

We are modding the connection to make a better fit.
__________________
Stinger III SR-48
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7 KW Spindle
Extra 2" Gantry Lift
T-Tracks
Dust Collection
Web Cam
Aspire
WINcnc
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.