CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Recoil Indexing Lathe (4th Axis)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-23-2020, 03:06 PM
mvil21 mvil21 is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 5
Default Shifting Recoil Lathe to Pocket Further than Material Center

Hi All,

I have spent the past few days reading through every single thread on this topic from pages 1 - 5 of 8. Excellent work, comments, and suggestions that y'all have given!

After a year with my Stinger 2 I am finally going to make use of the indexing lathe. I noticed that moving my spindle to the index lathe in the max x direction puts the bit a little over the center line. My part requires to machine more in the x direction of the material.

My solution is to drill and tap the recoil frame so I can move the recoil bars closer to the CNC work bed. I was thinking of moving it closer around an inch or maybe even have two options. The first 1 inch closer and the other say 1.75 inches closer to give me more room to machine in the x direction relative to the center of the material. I understand and am ok that this will reduce my maximum material diameter I can use.

Any reasons why I shouldn't drill,tap, and move the recoil lathe closer as mentioned above? Have any of y'all done this before? Any other recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2020, 07:28 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,679
Default

I cannot speak with experience, but as long as there's no issue with clearance, I don't visualize and physical issues. You will, of course, need to change settings in WinCNC so it knows where that recoil moved to, however... ;)
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-23-2020, 07:56 PM
Charlie_L Charlie_L is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,638
Default

I wonder if you could drill in for dowel pins in the steel so you could always get it to the same locations?
__________________
Charlie L
Stinger II, 48 by 48, 1.7 kW Spindle, FTC + Laser + Recoil + Vacuum, July 2012
WinCNC 2.5.03, Aspire 9, PhotoVCarve, Windows 7 Pro SP1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2020, 04:19 AM
DVE2000 DVE2000 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 454
Default

The only thing Id be cautious about is that the lathe stepper motor cant take too much force. If I have a 3 square piece of stock on it, I can rotate it (skip steps) with my hands with a bit of pressure.

That being said, I did quite a bit of flat machining on some spindles a few months ago. The flat/carved parts are 2 square and have mortises all done as 2D, using A commands to get 0/90/180/270 degrees. I created hand gcode files that called Vectric gcode files after rotating to correct positions. I started with those 3 blanks.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg D4EC62D0-98A5-4CED-B074-57D7C8F7FC99.jpg (83.1 KB, 41 views)
__________________
Gary
2018 Stinger II SR-44, 1.7kW Spindle, Performance Premium, Recoil, Gantry Lift, Cyclone
Fusion 360
Aspire
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lathe, recoil

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.