CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Recoil Indexing Lathe (4th Axis)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2021, 05:13 PM
de5 de5 is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Honea Path, SC
Posts: 937
Default 4th axis dust collection

Anyone who has used the rotary axis knows the problem with dust collection. I have been doing a lot of 4th axis work last year and thought I'd show my setup. I drilled and tapped two holes in the gantry end plate to bolt on a frame that holes the pipes. The attached picture shows a very short piece of Grenadilla (African Blackwood) turned into an 8-ball. It works well on long pieces too since the 4 inch vac opening moves along with the spindle. It sucks in almost all of the chips from small bits. Its worst performance is with a 1" insert bit I use for roughing off the corners of square stock. It throws the chips so hard that the suction doesn't get them all.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (96.6 KB, 73 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (52.9 KB, 64 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (65.7 KB, 55 views)
__________________
Charlie Hind
Cobra 404 ATC with 12 tool positions & 4th Axis (2012-present)
(2006-2012 - K2 CNC... sold in 2012 to buy the Cobra)
WinCNC
www.hindocarina.com
http://facebook.com/hindocarina
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2021, 06:34 PM
Logan Y Logan Y is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Kansas
Posts: 191
Default

Nice solution. I never considered the issue with 4th axis dust collection since I don't have one. Hopefully this helps someone out with the same problem.
__________________
4'x8' Stinger IV w/ 4.2 hp spindle and 4 tool ATC
Mister system
Phenolic Vac table
Hurricane Vac
Vcarve Pro 10



Catholic school IT director, wannabe woodworker, Krav Maga instructor, and CNC enthusiast
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2021, 07:00 PM
William William is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 18
Default

Love it. Looks like a great solution.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2021, 10:04 PM
drummerjg drummerjg is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Addison, PA
Posts: 1,149
Default

That is just too clever, Charlie! You have me thinking about something similar for my rotary now. Thanks for sharing.
__________________
Joe Garber
Retired Hobbyist
Stinger 1 SR24
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
Indexing Lathe
WinCNC, Aspire 9.5, PhotoCarve
Storm Vacuum
drummerjg@icloud.com


How to count to 10 in Windows:
1,2,3,95,NT,2000,XP,Vista,7,8,10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2021, 10:33 AM
de5 de5 is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Honea Path, SC
Posts: 937
Default

Thanks guys.
Joe, I hope it is helpful. I really like the "easy-cut" strip brushes from McMaster:
https://www.mcmaster.com/strip-brush...rip-brushes-6/

The brushes allowed the vacuum to be closer to the work and still allow it to slide past the tailstock when changing tools.
__________________
Charlie Hind
Cobra 404 ATC with 12 tool positions & 4th Axis (2012-present)
(2006-2012 - K2 CNC... sold in 2012 to buy the Cobra)
WinCNC
www.hindocarina.com
http://facebook.com/hindocarina
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2021, 10:50 AM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,900
Default

Very kewel setup.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2021, 10:20 AM
rcrawford rcrawford is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,456
Default

Looks great Charlie!

I keep meaning to set something up for my 4th axis. Or rather my lathe. I removed the 4th axis and set my variable speed lathe up beside my Cobra and fastened it to the floor (once I got it aligned correctly). I find it much more useful than a slow indexer (and I can still index every 15 degrees manually in needed). I can turn a french rolling pin in 2 minutes now and it comes out as smooth as using knives.

I'd love to figure out a way to have a lathe AND an indexer with the same set-up, with easy transition back and forth (just pull a lever to engage the indexer or something similar).
__________________
Russell Crawford
Cobra 408 ATC with recoil
Alberta, Canada
www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2021, 11:46 AM
de5 de5 is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Honea Path, SC
Posts: 937
Default

Thanks Russell, No doubt your lathe setup is the way to go for production.

I haven't worried too much about the slow process of cutting on the 4th axis because I'm not doing heavy production. It sure would be handy to be able to sand right there in place instead of moving to the lathe.

At this point in my life I consider myself semi-retired, so when I start getting too many orders for an instrument I raise the price to bring it back in line with how much I want to work. Unbelievably, last year was my best year ever. I really feel for all the guys who had to sell their machines.
__________________
Charlie Hind
Cobra 404 ATC with 12 tool positions & 4th Axis (2012-present)
(2006-2012 - K2 CNC... sold in 2012 to buy the Cobra)
WinCNC
www.hindocarina.com
http://facebook.com/hindocarina
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-13-2021, 03:28 PM
keithrhyde keithrhyde is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Winchester, Virginia
Posts: 370
Thumbs up Kudos

Charlie, great idea and thanks for sharing. I tried mocking one up out of cardboard years ago but I wasn't happy with the design. Thank you Sir.
__________________
Keith Hyde, Winchester, VA
2016 Stinger 1, 1.7KW HF Spindle HSD
Performance Package Pro, Vac, lathe, Aspire 9
Former Marine and retired Seabee Master Chief.
Furniture is my hobby not my vocation.
hyde.consulting@comcast.net
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-13-2021, 06:46 PM
de5 de5 is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Honea Path, SC
Posts: 937
Default

Thanks Keith, I have made a couple of cardboard designs that I abandoned too. This one is the best so far, but to be perfect it needs some sort of tray that extends from the bottom brushes underneath the work piece and then bends upward between the work piece and the table. That would stop any chips that get thrown away from the brushes. The problem is it would have to fit between the head stock and tail stock and be supported by the bed. A longer work piece would require a longer tray. Ideally it would be expandable to different lengths so one tray would fit all, but I haven't worked that out yet. Any ideas are welcome!
__________________
Charlie Hind
Cobra 404 ATC with 12 tool positions & 4th Axis (2012-present)
(2006-2012 - K2 CNC... sold in 2012 to buy the Cobra)
WinCNC
www.hindocarina.com
http://facebook.com/hindocarina
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.