CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Stinger Series CNC Routers > Stinger I (Table Top)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-22-2021, 09:17 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 2,046
Default

Unfortunately, most trucking companies are oriented to delivery to businesses and they are often hard to deal with for a residential situation. Picking up at the terminal is often the best way to do things if the distance is reasonable and you have a trailer or appropriate truck. The former is usually easier because trailers are lower to the ground. I originally wanted to to pick my Stinger II up at the terminal, but the LTL "last mile" carrier's terminal was two hours away. So I did arrange for the roll-back. The tractor Trailer driver was an hour early so he just had to wait with me in the parking lot down the road until my rollback operator could get there physically from his previous appointment.

I did pick up my SCM/Minimax sliding table saw from a trucking terminal with my trailer which was only about 25 miles away at the time.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA

Last edited by Jim Becker; 02-22-2021 at 09:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-24-2021, 09:16 PM
gtgmarine gtgmarine is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Florida
Posts: 56
Default

The Stinger 1 is finally in my shop and safely mounted atop its stand.
I was able to get it here with a roll-back truck from a nearby industrial park.
Power-up and first cuts this weekend. I'll post some pics.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-24-2021, 09:21 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 2,046
Default

Congrats on your delivery and assembly! Have fun with your new Stinger!
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-24-2021, 09:37 PM
james mcgrew's Avatar
james mcgrew james mcgrew is offline
Administrator, (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ridgeway sc
Posts: 7,417
Default

Excellent !! I have changed staus to Owner !
__________________
James McGrew
CAMaster ATC 508
The principle of Measure twice cut once has not been replaced by a CNC

www.mcgrewwoodwork.com

https://www.facebook.com/pg/Mcgrew-W...=page_internal

Camera 1 ATC Closeup !
https://video.nest.com/live/esNTrZ

fixed 4-27-2020
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-24-2021, 11:32 PM
gtgmarine gtgmarine is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Florida
Posts: 56
Default

Unfortunately CAMaster shipped a DB25 cable instead of a DB37 cable so I can't power it up. Maybe I can get one from Amazon by Saturday. Grrrr!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-25-2021, 12:56 AM
Charlie_L Charlie_L is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,781
Default

I’m not at my machine and it could be different, but before ordering anything double check what is needed. I recall and suspect the db25 is what is used.

Or, I could be wrong but it is worth checking.
__________________
Charlie L
Stinger II, 48 by 48, 1.7 kW Spindle, FTC + Laser + Recoil + Vacuum, July 2012
WinCNC 2.5.03, Aspire 9, PhotoVCarve, Windows 7 Pro SP1
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-25-2021, 09:49 AM
gtgmarine gtgmarine is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Florida
Posts: 56
Default

The DB25 cable was shipped with the machine but the PC and the Stinger 1 control box both have only DB37 connectors. Apparently there was an engineering change recently since there are no DB25 connections anywhere.
The Stinger Quick Start Guide calls for the DB25 cable to be connected to the Stinger 1. The Quick Start Guide also calls for a VGA cable but the monitor uses HDMI.
I would hope this machine was tested before crating so the guide needs to be updated.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-25-2021, 10:24 AM
rfalk rfalk is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 23
Default Dont do the dumb thing I did

when setting up my new Stinger 1. The Camaster supplied monitor came with two cables and not having set up a computer in a long time, I ignorantly ran both from the monitor to the computer. Your computer will not work if you do this! Camaster acknowledged that I was not the only one to do this and told me they have edited the setup instructions to warn against this. Not sure why they send two cables when only one is needed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.