CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Tips & Techniques > Molds, Mold making and Pattern work

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2016, 05:12 PM
accross26 accross26 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Tuscumbia, AL
Posts: 32
CAMaster Logo Profile Cut is Offset

Good Afternoon CAMheads. I have a question that I would like some input on. I am in the process of making a bathroom mirror and started on the frame yesterday. I decided to use my Stinger I to cut the mitered corners of the frame for the mirror since I know this would be a sure fire way of getting rock solid 45 angles pretty quick. (My miter saw is not perfect at this despite my sincerest efforts to square it up). I set a profile toolpath the cut the angles as need using the Outside/Right Machine Vector. I used a 0.25" EM for the cut. However, I discovered that the cut was 1/8" offset, half the diameter of my bit. So, since I mitered both ends of the board my board length was 1/4" less than expected. I cut the next boards and had the same issue. Any ideas on why this is happening?
__________________
Adam Crosswhite
accross26@gmail.com
CAMaster Stinger I
FTC
WinCNC + VCarve Pro + PhotoVCarve
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2016, 05:48 PM
Pete Cyr Pete Cyr is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Suffolk VA
Posts: 382
Default

Check to see if you Are set to cut ....on....or ....outside in your profile setup
__________________
Pete Cyr
CAMaster Stinger II SR-34 - 1.7KW - FTC
Aspire, WINCNC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2016, 05:58 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,766
Default

Adam...
Pete is spot on. There are 3 things I can think of that will cause your issue:

1) profile Left/On/Right Setting
2) Bit Diameter
3) Machine material location not the same as design

Post your design (CRV file) here or Vectric forum if you don't figure it out
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2016, 07:05 PM
tmouse tmouse is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 108
Default

Have you checked to see if your machine move 10 inches if you input 10 inches.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2016, 10:55 AM
accross26 accross26 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Tuscumbia, AL
Posts: 32
Default

I was setup to cut on the outside/right profile setting, and I double checked my bit diameter with a caliber. I also made sure that my bit was setup as 0.25" in the tool database.

I have not checked that my machine moves 10" when 10" is input. I will do that.
__________________
Adam Crosswhite
accross26@gmail.com
CAMaster Stinger I
FTC
WinCNC + VCarve Pro + PhotoVCarve
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2016, 10:59 AM
james mcgrew's Avatar
james mcgrew james mcgrew is offline
Administrator, (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ridgeway sc
Posts: 6,788
Default

can you post the file as it was when the problem occured, if vector was not closed it can make a difference
__________________
James McGrew
CAMaster ATC 508
The principle of Measure twice cut once has not been replaced by a CNC

www.mcgrewwoodwork.com

https://www.facebook.com/pg/Mcgrew-W...=page_internal

Camera 1 ATC Closeup !
https://video.nest.com/live/esNTrZ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2016, 11:46 PM
accross26 accross26 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Tuscumbia, AL
Posts: 32
Default

James I think you hit the nail on the head. After you mentioned that open vectors could be the issue I went back and double checked. I had used single lines to mark my profile cuts, and sure enough they were showing up as open vectors. So, I reran the file using rectangles slightly wider than my bit diameter, and cut using the inside/left machine vector. Viola! The lengths were exactly the length they were supposed to be. No more offset. Thanks guys for your input.
__________________
Adam Crosswhite
accross26@gmail.com
CAMaster Stinger I
FTC
WinCNC + VCarve Pro + PhotoVCarve
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.