CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Cobra CNC Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2017, 12:43 AM
J_Eliz J_Eliz is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 12
Default Ridges left in finished piece

Anybody experience this before? I'm getting ridges in my product while pocket clearing. It's really frustrating. I just remeasured all the tools in my atc so I know it's not that. Any ideas? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled-1.jpg (86.2 KB, 122 views)
File Type: jpg Untitled-2.jpg (72.1 KB, 86 views)
File Type: jpg Untitled-3.jpg (59.9 KB, 87 views)
File Type: jpg Untitled-4.jpg (72.6 KB, 93 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2017, 10:18 AM
Charlie_L Charlie_L is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,400
Default

I might start with obvious questions you have already checked. Is the material held down with vacuum? Or, is it possible the material is moving up and down just a little? The pictures look like a lot of variation. Can you see anything moving? Does a profile cut move up and down just like this?
__________________
Charlie L
Stinger II, 48 by 48, 1.7 kW Spindle, FTC + Laser + Recoil + Vacuum, July 2012
WinCNC 2.5.03, Aspire 9, PhotoVCarve, Windows 7 Pro SP1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2017, 11:13 AM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,766
Default

J_E...
What model are we speaking of here?

You say: "I just remeasured all the tools in my atc so I know it's not that." Does this mean that you have taken each tool down to the spoilboard surface and verified that each and every one reads 0.000 when it touches the surface?
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2017, 02:25 PM
Rlee1972 Rlee1972 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 461
Default

Thank you for that reply Gary, you just solved a perplexing issue I had. Embarrassingly simple....
__________________
Ron Lee
Blackshear, Ga
2018 Cobra Elite 5 x 10
HSD 12HP ATC
20 Tool Holder
25HP Regen Vac

2017 Panther 408
HSD 5HP ATC
6 Tool Rotary Carousel
Recoil Lathe
Laser
Aspire 9.0
PhotoVcarve



Be humble.
Be kind.
Be grateful.
Life is too short and prone to quickly change to live otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2017, 03:32 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,766
Default

Ron...
You remember from class.... VERIFY! (if not your son will!)
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2017, 05:43 PM
J_Eliz J_Eliz is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 12
Default

Gary, I have a Cobra 508 ATC with hold down, no vacuum table. T slot track hold down system.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-01-2017, 05:45 PM
J_Eliz J_Eliz is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 12
Default

Charlie, I'm holding my material down with clamps on a T-Slot table. I've had the unit for about 3 months and pretty awesome results. But never really cut into smaller sections like this before. I'm cutting small signs, roughly 12 or so out of a 4x8 mdf sheet. Never seen this before. Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-2017, 05:47 PM
J_Eliz J_Eliz is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 12
Default

No, I haven't done that actually, I just load the tool and measure it. What do I do if its not reading zero at that point? That's a no brainer I should have trouble shooted that first, rookie here. But it's quite a bit of variation, really random.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-01-2017, 06:15 PM
de5 de5 is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Honea Path, SC
Posts: 916
Default

If it is random like you say I would suspect that there is possibly some play in the Z axis.
__________________
Charlie Hind
Cobra 404 ATC with 12 tool positions & 4th Axis (2012-present)
(2006-2012 - K2 CNC... sold in 2012 to buy the Cobra)
WinCNC
www.hindocarina.com
http://facebook.com/hindocarina
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-01-2017, 07:28 PM
J_Eliz J_Eliz is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 12
Default

Play in the z axis? What's the fix for that?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.