CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Stinger Series CNC Routers > Stinger III

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2018, 03:25 PM
rideak rideak is offline
CAMhead Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Default Z Fuse Blowing

Hi,

My Machine stopped during the middle of a cut this morning. I found that the Z fuse was blown. When I install a new fuse and turn on the machine it immediately blows the fuse again. Any ideas what might be causing this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2018, 03:35 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,741
Default

What model machine, what size fuse? Stepper or servo?
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2018, 03:39 PM
rideak rideak is offline
CAMhead Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Default

Stinger III, 5A fuse, I think that it has stepper motors.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-14-2018, 05:43 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,741
Default

I would check the connector just upstream of the motor (power off) to see if there are any black marks in it. Check all the wires near the drive to see if there are any touching or crossed over "hairs"

If not, then plug that motor into the X connector near it and move the motor with the X arrows. Then use a new fuse and see if the X moves with the Z arrows.

With no motor connected, put a new fuse in the Z holder. Does the Z blow again?

That swap out should determine if you need a motor or drive. Drive is suspected. If they don't have one in stock, I do.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-14-2018, 06:41 PM
rideak rideak is offline
CAMhead Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the input. The connectors by the motor seem fine. Everything plugged into the drive seems fine. Nothing happens when I move the green plug from the Z to the X drive and try to move it with the x controls. Z fuse still blows with no motor plugged in. Seems like this points to both motor and drive, which I think is unlikely. Is there something else that could cause the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-14-2018, 09:31 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,741
Default

Nothing happened when you plugged the Z connector into the X because it still had a blown fuse? Did the drive lights come on?

Looks like you need a drive, but I would verify with tech support first. And double check the motor connector once again, because if there is a loose connection there, that will blow the new drive just as dead as the current one.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.