CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > The Water Cooler > The Water Cooler

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-13-2018, 11:30 PM
Doug S Doug S is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 94
Default Its alive...

Well, After many long days and nights, and a fairly good chunk of money, my "new to me" Camaster Cobra is alive and running.
I am planning on running mostly sheet goods from Mozaik thru it and have a few orders sitting on the shop floor already from overly eager customers.

I tried to get three phase power but the electrical company wanted 31K to run it 1000 feet to my house. I opted to go with the digital Phase Perfect system to ensure the cleanest power to the unit as I could. I went with a 40HP system to run my old ass 300 gallon compressor, 20 HP Becker pump and the CNC. The Oneida 5 hp industrial is 220 single phase, and loud as hell.

I started milling the old spoiler board as my test and it appears I need to check the tramming on the head as it is leaving a fairly good bump at every step. Yes, I went with the 4" head to make matters worse.
I will do some searching on that but if anyone feels like telling me the way, I will surely listen.

Thanks again to everyone for all the help and the questions have only begun.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_4893.jpg (88.0 KB, 122 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_4894.jpg (95.2 KB, 119 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_4895.jpg (92.9 KB, 125 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_4896.jpg (93.7 KB, 125 views)
__________________
2014 Cobra 5x10 ATC w/ 10 hp spindle, Mozaik, 25 hp Becker High Vacuum Pump, 5 HP Oneida DC-Central Texas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2018, 12:42 AM
Rlee1972 Rlee1972 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 461
Default

Looks great! time to let the chips fly!
__________________
Ron Lee
Blackshear, Ga
2018 Cobra Elite 5 x 10
HSD 12HP ATC
20 Tool Holder
25HP Regen Vac

2017 Panther 408
HSD 5HP ATC
6 Tool Rotary Carousel
Recoil Lathe
Laser
Aspire 9.0
PhotoVcarve



Be humble.
Be kind.
Be grateful.
Life is too short and prone to quickly change to live otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2018, 09:30 AM
Pete Cyr Pete Cyr is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Suffolk VA
Posts: 382
Default

|
|________________
.............................|
.............................|


An inexpensive tramming tool you can make ....bend a piece of 0.25 steel rod as shown above. Mount in 0.25” collet.

Bends ..the up and down portion can be any length but at least 3” for ease of use. The horizontal length should be around 12”.... the longer the more accurate but I don’t recommend more than 15”

With the rod mounted in your spindle ...adjust the spindle height so the rod is close to the spoil board while manually positioning the rod parallel to the gantry.
Check left and right parallel to the gantry. Using feeler gages or a shim to gage clearance to obtain an equidistant measurement while loosening spindle mounting fasteners to adjust the spindle orientation.

Young can also tram the spindle by positioning the rod perpendicular to the gantry....but you will have to shim the spindle Mount.

You can get a very accurate tram using this process.

You may want use a small piece glass under the rod end initially (3”-4”) to get an average surface height when measuring since you indicated you have ridges.

After tramming...resurface, the check tram again. It if desired.
Pete
__________________
Pete Cyr
CAMaster Stinger II SR-34 - 1.7KW - FTC
Aspire, WINCNC

Last edited by Pete Cyr; 07-14-2018 at 09:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2018, 10:17 AM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,741
Default

Here's a little bit of the good news and bad news about tramming.

The bent wire method works, the gauge method works, lots of ways to skin that cat.

So, if like me, you do the following:

Surface table with large bit
Use a machined plate (that sits very well on the high spots0
Carefully use a tram gauge (as shown in the pic)

You will almost always have to make a minor adjustment once you put the large surfacing bit back in and surface the table.

Its almost easier to just adjust the spindle based on the results from surfacing
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Tram.jpg (72.0 KB, 102 views)
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2018, 01:30 PM
Jim_in_PA Jim_in_PA is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 717
Default

Congrats on getting things up and running!

The solution for the noise is to get an enclosure around your cyclone (and other noise-producing gear like compressors. My cyclone and compressor live in a sound-deadened closet in my shop with a baffled air return to prevent direct transmission of sound. It made a "YUGE" difference, trust me, and was worth the time and effort. The only real nose with my CNC now is the cutter when it's engaging material like wood. (it's "almost" silent when running foam...or at least doesn't interfere with the tunes coming from the shop speakers :) )
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-17-2018, 04:53 PM
John B John B is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Comfort, TX
Posts: 29
Default

Gary

I have a tram spindle that will span as much as 6", but no dial indicators...before I go spring for a couple, most that I've seen are touted to "accurate to" .001" Is that what you're using? (sorry, your picture was just blurred enough that I couldn't make out the brand name of the one you showed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Campbell View Post
Here's a little bit of the good news and bad news about tramming.

The bent wire method works, the gauge method works, lots of ways to skin that cat.

So, if like me, you do the following:

Surface table with large bit
Use a machined plate (that sits very well on the high spots0
Carefully use a tram gauge (as shown in the pic)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-17-2018, 05:43 PM
Ballistix Ballistix is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John B View Post
Gary

I have a tram spindle that will span as much as 6", but no dial indicators...before I go spring for a couple, most that I've seen are touted to "accurate to" .001" Is that what you're using? (sorry, your picture was just blurred enough that I couldn't make out the brand name of the one you showed
It looks like a Pro Tram from Edge Tech. $99.99 as you see it.
At Shars, you can get 10% off if you sign up for email.

Last edited by Ballistix; 09-17-2018 at 05:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-17-2018, 07:51 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,741
Default

John...
As long as you go to a qualified surface, you can use what you have with feeler gauges
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.