CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > The Water Cooler > New Forum Members

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2019, 03:20 PM
AZ Craig AZ Craig is offline
CAMhead Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
Default My Cobra has arrived in Scottsdale & a dust question

After 12 weeks, it has arrived. As a hobby woodworker, I didn't have a forklift but the neighbors had one (and once the CNC arrived, we decided we needed a bigger boat) so I borrowed another one. After 90 minutes of maneuvering, we got it placed in my shop.

Now, a dust collector question, I have a 1.5hp Jet dust collector that I was going to use as a dedicated unit for the CNC but I'm wondering if that will be big enough. If not, I'll have to get busy ordering a bigger one.

Thoughts?

Thanks!!

https://imgur.com/EXCclqf
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2019, 05:37 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,110
Default

That DC will be sufficient with no question...you're only going to be servicing a single 4" port and as long as you can locate the DC nearby your new Cobra (CONGRATULATIONS!), the run will be only be, say, 20' or so to get overhead and down. Consider getting high quality filter bags, such as those from American Fabric Filter unless your Jet system has the canister filter.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2019, 09:00 PM
AZ Craig AZ Craig is offline
CAMhead Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks Jim, sounds like it will work.

Now, on to the implementation of the Cobra. Quite intimidating, but I am patient and my wife and I will be attending the CAMaster training in July.
__________________
Craig Stull
Scottsdale, AZ

CAMaster Cobra Elite, 12hp, ATC, Recoil
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-03-2019, 09:11 AM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 270
Default

If I'm not mistaken, I think the Cobra elite comes with a 5" dust port. That will be even better and give you more suckyness. Just run the largest diameter pipe for the longest distance from your dust collector and It'll be great. The big box stores sell 5" snap-together A/C duct that I used for mine because my dust collector (2hp from harbor freight) has a 5" port. My Panther has a 4" port at the dust foot so I just necked the 5" main line down to 4" right above the cnc table. Works great.

Be sure to read all about grounding your dust collection.

Have fun with your new toy.
__________________
New all-steel 5X10 Panther
5Hp ATC spindle with 8 tool carousel
Pop up pins
WinCNC
VcarvePro 8 & 9.5
15Hp FPZ vacuum
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-03-2019, 09:57 AM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,110
Default

If you buy snap-loc at the 'borg, be sure to choose the "stove pipe" 26 gage version (silver label on the shelf), not the 30 gage HVAC version. Same goes for an HVAC supplier.

For your install, follow the setup guide that Camaster should have provided to you.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-03-2019, 10:54 AM
Ger21 Ger21 is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Posts: 405
Default

With a 10HP or larger spindle, I'd recommend a 3-5HP collector, with 5-6" hose to the spindle, if you'll be making aggressive cuts.


On our Morbidelli, we have a dedicated 10HP collector, with the spindle inside a 10" hose, and it still doesn't get all the chips.
__________________
Gerry

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-04-2019, 06:53 PM
The real JP The real JP is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 514
Default

[QUOTE=That will be even better and give you more suckyness.[/QUOTE]

Don't confuse people with your technobabble...
__________________
Jpscustomshop@gmail.com

Industrial electrician by day, Cabinet and furniture maker by evening and weekend. Cnc newb.

June 2017 Stinger 3 SR48
3kw spindle, FTC, Laser, Recoil, Hurricane
V Carve, Mozaik
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-2019, 02:57 AM
AZ Craig AZ Craig is offline
CAMhead Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ger21 View Post
With a 10HP or larger spindle, I'd recommend a 3-5HP collector, with 5-6" hose to the spindle, if you'll be making aggressive cuts.


On our Morbidelli, we have a dedicated 10HP collector, with the spindle inside a 10" hose, and it still doesn't get all the chips.
I'm going to try the 1.5hp DC and if it doesn't hunt, I'll order a bigger one. It's worth a shot.
__________________
Craig Stull
Scottsdale, AZ

CAMaster Cobra Elite, 12hp, ATC, Recoil
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-2019, 09:02 AM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The real JP View Post
Don't confuse people with your technobabble...
I try to lay it all out there in the most techie-ist layman's terms possible.

"Getting all the chips" isn't necessarily a bad thing depending on what you are cutting. Sometimes the chips packed in the kerf holds your parts good and steady on the cut thru pass. If you're running 8 sheets/hour for 8 hours a day, yeah, you want all the chips gone so you don't have to clean up between sheets.
__________________
New all-steel 5X10 Panther
5Hp ATC spindle with 8 tool carousel
Pop up pins
WinCNC
VcarvePro 8 & 9.5
15Hp FPZ vacuum
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-05-2019, 05:52 PM
The real JP The real JP is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 514
Default

When I "sized" my dc for my shop. I actually didn't really take the cnc into consideration.
I sized it for the drum sander, that takes to most cfm to keep clean.

I also went with a large filter stack as my dc vents inside. I had had cheaper bag and paper filter dc before.

The ones I had Jet and uhmmm don't remember put too much fine dust back into the air. It felt like I had a chest cold. I lived with that for 2 days and vented it outside. Which was much better for breathing, but hard on the ac.


Ended up with a large clearvue and their filter stack.

Works really well, but when I cut mdf I can still smell it so I know it isn't catching it all. I don't cut much mdf though.
__________________
Jpscustomshop@gmail.com

Industrial electrician by day, Cabinet and furniture maker by evening and weekend. Cnc newb.

June 2017 Stinger 3 SR48
3kw spindle, FTC, Laser, Recoil, Hurricane
V Carve, Mozaik
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.