CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > The Water Cooler > New Forum Members

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-12-2019, 01:07 PM
Michael Mezalick's Avatar
Michael Mezalick Michael Mezalick is offline
CAMaster Owner, (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,663
Default

Yes, I also use the manual digitizing tool in WINCNC for my frames..
Comes in very handy.
Michael
Attached Images
File Type: jpg frame 2.jpg (16.8 KB, 35 views)
File Type: jpg frame 3.jpg (84.1 KB, 35 views)
__________________
Michael Mezalick
Cobra, WINCNC

3-D Modeling
https://carveddetails.com

mm@mezalick.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-12-2019, 07:17 PM
drummerjg drummerjg is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Addison, PA
Posts: 781
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eph210 View Post
WinCNC has a built in digitizing function. I use the manual digitize and walk around the item using the positioning laser to follow the shape. I have done over 130 natural edge boards this way, laying out several internal shapes to fit the board.
The output is a DXF file that you import into V-Carve. After a few times it gets very quick.
I had no idea this feature was available! Can you expound a little on the "process?"
Thanks for the education!
__________________
Joe Garber
Retired Hobbyist
Stinger 1 SR24
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
Indexing Lathe
WinCNC, Aspire 9.5, PhotoCarve
Storm Vacuum
drummerjg@icloud.com


How to count to 10 in Windows:
1,2,3,95,NT,2000,XP,Vista,7,8,10
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-12-2019, 07:49 PM
eph210 eph210 is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: southern Alberta
Posts: 168
Default

I start by flattening the board using a drum sander. I draw the desired shapes on the board and a designated X0Y0 (I use X0Y0 at the centre). Then I mount the board on the CNC in the position that it will be machined. It can be any angle or position on the table.
Turn on the positioning laser and walk it over to the designated X0Y0 and click on Set X0Y0 (not the laser offset X0Y0). Start the digitizing function. Move the laser to the first point and press CTRL J. The digitizing function only has lines, arcs and jumps so I will have pre-marked the end points of the arcs around the contour. Move to any point on the arc and press CTRL A then move to the end of the arc and press CTRL A. I prefer to close the shape in Aspire so when I have come back to the start point I jump to the next shape and repeat the process. CTRL W ends the function and stores the DXF.
Here's the slick part (thanks to Luke), press go to X0Y0 and now press Laser offset X0Y0. Import the DXF into Aspire. I then close the shapes and convert to Beziers, and adjust anything that looks odd. Now you have your vectors for whatever you are doing and you are already in the right position to cut it.
__________________
Euan Hanchard
Serrano Studios
Stinger I FTC
Wincnc vcarvepro
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-12-2019, 09:16 PM
drummerjg drummerjg is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Addison, PA
Posts: 781
Thumbs up

I cant wait to try this out...thanks, Euan.
__________________
Joe Garber
Retired Hobbyist
Stinger 1 SR24
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
Indexing Lathe
WinCNC, Aspire 9.5, PhotoCarve
Storm Vacuum
drummerjg@icloud.com


How to count to 10 in Windows:
1,2,3,95,NT,2000,XP,Vista,7,8,10
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-13-2019, 11:24 AM
Terry Williams Terry Williams is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 212
Default

Here's a video that shows how to use Fusion 360 to reverse engineer an object from a photo - maybe you could take pictures and use this technique to derive a vector drawing or export as a .stl file for 3D model.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dUiIAb1YqeM

Might be worth a try if you can't put the part on your router table.

By the way, what equipment do you have and where are you located in Florida? - I'm in the Naples area.
__________________
Terry Williams
Cobra 510 with Recoil
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-13-2019, 12:51 PM
BradyWatson BradyWatson is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: 1 hour South of Philly
Posts: 303
Default

Same idea/method can be done in Aspire & possibly VCP if you don't need the 3D filet, etc (using the grip example here).

Be careful digitizing from photos...it isn't accurate, even with a good camera. You need to take photos properly with a calibrated lens on a DSLR for reliable, accurate-ish results - using a tripod, with the camera on the correct angle. If digitizing 2D or 3D with only a camera (or cell phone) was 'all that' - I'd sell all my pricey digitizing arms and lasers and find something else to do...

It was mentioned that probing on the CNC was slow...when you don't have the means to digitize any other way, who cares? 3D digitizing is slow. 2D perimeter/outline digitizing only takes a few minutes (even on a large panel) and you can import the result into your favorite CAD program (as a DXF) and clean it up as required. There isn't a more accurate/faster/cheaper method of 2D digitizing than using the digitizing probe on your CNC.
__________________
IBILD Solutions - High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-13-2019, 01:09 PM
Terry Williams Terry Williams is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 212
Default

Yep, if you digitize from a picture taken with a fish-eye lens you're probably gonna have a problem.

The guy in the video claimed that he was able to get .004 accuracy using this technique.

If he's not mistaken and you try to do it right (Shoot from directly above and maybe use dlsr with a 55mm lens so its fairly accurate across the film plane) you might be able to get decent results.

it may be worth the effort since it is tough to get a boat or an airplane on your router table for digitization.

That being said, it will require some effort to be accurate and the distance from lens to object may cause problems depending on the object size.
__________________
Terry Williams
Cobra 510 with Recoil
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.