CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Tips & Techniques > CAMaster Cabinetmaking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-14-2019, 07:05 PM
Kozcnc Kozcnc is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 18
Default shaker door Drill depths are different

hey guys I am having issues with my cnc drill different depths for my shaker doors. I am using mosaik to cut pocket style mdf doors.

I measure all my bits first and then I cut pocket with a 1/2 downshear and clean up the corners with a 1/8 downshear then hog out the center with a 1.25 bit. (i have the vortex set)

when I am done cutting the corners are about a 1/16 proud of where they should be be? is this normal is there a way I can cheat the depth on the bits to get it to cut the same depth like it should. Thanks

I would put a pic up here but i dont know how
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-15-2019, 10:07 AM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 365
Default

Is your machine manual tool change or ATC? Do you have the Fast tool change?
If you're doing it manually, it's best to measure all the tools in the EXACT same spot. If you have the tool measure switch, sometimes tools will measure a few thousandths off from the next, but I've never had one 1/16 off.
It could be that your part is moving up or down a bit between the different tools. How are you holding down the part?
__________________
New all-steel 5X10 Panther
5Hp ATC spindle with 8 tool carousel
Pop up pins
WinCNC
VcarvePro 8 & 9.5
15Hp FPZ vacuum
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-15-2019, 10:18 AM
The real JP The real JP is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 593
Default

Is the thin part that's getting pocketed maybe flexing up into the bit?

I might be picturing the wrong thing in my head?
__________________
Jpscustomshop@gmail.com

Industrial electrician by day, Cabinet and furniture maker by evening and weekend. Cnc newb.

June 2017 Stinger 3 SR48
3kw spindle, FTC, Laser, Recoil, Hurricane
V Carve, Mozaik
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-16-2019, 02:17 PM
Kozcnc Kozcnc is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 18
Default

Hi GuitarWes thanks for the response I have a Panther 408 with a ATC and the Drill bits are held in with the standard collets.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-16-2019, 02:20 PM
Kozcnc Kozcnc is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 18
Default

Hi the Real Jp I have the hurricane vac system and the spoilbaord is good, I am cutting with a down shear so I dont think its the bit.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2019, 10:10 AM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 365
Default

Posting pictures from your computer: After saving your pictures to a folder on your computer, start a new post and scroll down to the Additional Options box. In the Attach Files section, click on the Manage Attachments bar. This will pull up a new window. Click on Choose File, click on the picture you want, and then hit the Open button at the bottom of the window. Repeat this if you want to post multiple pictures. When finished choosing pictures, click on Upload. Then click Submit Reply.
__________________
New all-steel 5X10 Panther
5Hp ATC spindle with 8 tool carousel
Pop up pins
WinCNC
VcarvePro 8 & 9.5
15Hp FPZ vacuum
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-17-2019, 04:15 PM
Kozcnc Kozcnc is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks Guitar wes here the pics of what shes doing
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0579.jpg (90.3 KB, 26 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0578.jpg (91.3 KB, 27 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-17-2019, 05:37 PM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 365
Default

There's got to be something wrong with your cut depth settings in Mosaik for it to be that much out of whack.

Make sure you measure all tools. Did you replace an 1/8" tool and forget to measure it by chance? Just trying to exhaust all variables.
__________________
New all-steel 5X10 Panther
5Hp ATC spindle with 8 tool carousel
Pop up pins
WinCNC
VcarvePro 8 & 9.5
15Hp FPZ vacuum
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.