CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Software > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-09-2012, 03:44 PM
Joey Jarrard's Avatar
Joey Jarrard Joey Jarrard is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calhoun, GA
Posts: 3,195
Default

like Eric said 2 different animals. If you want to wrap stl's then aspire is great and easy to use. If you want to go full 4th axis (where x,y,z, & a move at the same time) then rhino is the better bet. All depends on how in depth you need or want to go.

this is a real good post a lot of good questions.
__________________
Joey Jarrard

US Router Tools
888-720-TOOL (8665)
www.usroutertools.com
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-10-2012, 09:55 AM
eandico eandico is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,282
Default

Mark and OP,
The skull stool colume was done in Aspire. A 3d STL file imported in, unwrapped and positioned 3 times. It works very well but you can't get the undercuts

I do wish Vectric would pursue making the rotary function a true 4th axis operation instead of just unwrapping.

If they would I would have no problem giving up another grand for that functionality.

I offten look at Rhinocam and think of getting it just to have the true 4th axis cutting ability. I feel like I can't get the full potential from my rotary.....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg =_utf-8_B_SU1HMstool.jpg (67.8 KB, 24 views)
__________________
Best,
Nick
www.theeandicompany.com
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-10-2012, 02:23 PM
Mark Meyer Mark Meyer is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eandico View Post
Mark and OP,
The skull stool colume was done in Aspire. A 3d STL file imported in, unwrapped and positioned 3 times. It works very well but you can't get the undercuts

I do wish Vectric would pursue making the rotary function a true 4th axis operation instead of just unwrapping.

If they would I would have no problem giving up another grand for that functionality.

I offten look at Rhinocam and think of getting it just to have the true 4th axis cutting ability. I feel like I can't get the full potential from my rotary.....
You see, that right there has me looking again at Rhino.
It seems that Aspire does allow you a "work around", but it can't really take advantage of the Recoil like a true 4th-axis software can.

I do see that Aspire is probably good for the typical architectural miller, and that's a lot of what I'll be doing with mine. But I'd rather just spend once for Rhino and get it over with because I hate to get started on a project and then bump up against a wall when I start pushing the envelope of design.

Thanks guys, but further contributions are invited in this thread because, as Joey said, it's a topic that probably deserves some more wringing out in order to help others better choose which way they want to go.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-10-2012, 02:29 PM
james mcgrew's Avatar
james mcgrew james mcgrew is offline
Administrator, (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ridgeway sc
Posts: 6,758
Default

i would advise in your case to go rhino, i am an aspire fan, it is what i have used for all i do yet i have thought often of purchasing rhino you may lead the way, i will be looking to learn as you progress with this, i use several softwars for different reasons, cabnetware is a good basic shop drawing program cabinetvision is far more progressed in several ways yet the curve of use is a bear, i have both
__________________
James McGrew
CAMaster ATC 508
The principle of Measure twice cut once has not been replaced by a CNC

www.mcgrewwoodwork.com

https://www.facebook.com/pg/Mcgrew-W...=page_internal

Camera 1 ATC Closeup !
https://video.nest.com/live/esNTrZ
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-10-2012, 03:59 PM
Eric Mims Eric Mims is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 434
Default

Mark, I have used Rhino for about 10 years, and if you ever have a question on how to design a part or machine a part, just ask here.. there's a few of us who can probably point you in the right direction. I know most everything about Rhinocam Basic (never used the 4th axis add-on). Just so you know, Mecsoft is releasing Rhinocam 2012 very soon.. I think within the month.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.