CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Tips & Techniques > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2020, 09:30 PM
NorthernWI NorthernWI is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 42
Default KRS keypad cannot remain plugged in?

I have the 30-key version of the KRS keypad. After powering on the PC I must unplug the KRS keypad and plug it back in before the keypad is recognized by the PC. It's an odd behavior and inconsistent with the behavior of any USB device I've ever used. Is the behavior of the keypad correct? Should I really unplug the keypad, power up the PC, and then plug in the keypad?

I've tried a few USB ports with no noticeable difference in behavior.

Any thoughts or suggestions?
__________________
---

Scott
2020 Stinger II SR-44
Vectric VCarve 10
Bricsys BricsCAD V20 Platinum
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2020, 08:54 AM
1601chief 1601chief is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Bowdoin,ME
Posts: 54
Default

I have an older model 4-5 years, mine has worked fine from day 1, but i will say you must be on wincnc program for it to work. Sometimes i go to another program, and have to click on wincnc window to activate it again.

Andy
__________________
Andrew Pierce

Stinger I
Aspire v10.5
Wincnc
FTC
Laser Pointer
2 1/4 hp router
Performance Pkg Basic
Recoil Lathe
Digitizing Probe
KRS Keypad
Donek Drag-knife
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2020, 09:41 AM
drummerjg drummerjg is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Addison, PA
Posts: 1,108
Default

Andy is spot on. Unless the wincnc window is the active window the device will not respond. Mine is 3yrs old and I have no issues like you are mentioning.
__________________
Joe Garber
Retired Hobbyist
Stinger 1 SR24
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
Indexing Lathe
WinCNC, Aspire 9.5, PhotoCarve
Storm Vacuum
drummerjg@icloud.com


How to count to 10 in Windows:
1,2,3,95,NT,2000,XP,Vista,7,8,10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2020, 11:22 AM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,748
Default

They keypad is just another USB keyboard to Windows, but it may not do anything useful due to how it's programed unless WinCNC is active.

That said, you may want to try two things:

1) try a different USB port on the computer
2) open up the case on the keypad and make sure "that end" of the USB cable...which plugs into a socket on the board...is not loose. While it's open, also check that the ribbon cable from the touchpad isn't loose, too. I bring this up because I recently had a problem with my 20 position KRS keypad not operating and found that the USB cable was loose in the internal socket after an, um...unfortunate incident...where I dropped/pulled the keypad to the floor accidentally during material handling
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.