CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Software > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2020, 11:45 AM
MARSIMI MARSIMI is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 37
Default Exceeding Y+ error Saturday morning :(

Gents -

I am really new to CNC and making some progress - finally working on some cabinet drawers and my CNC stopped after 12 min (910 lines) into the program and gave me an error message of "soft limit exceeded [Y+]. (see pic) I have not shut down but did initialize and try to re-run the program and it did the same thing. I would really like to fix this and restart -

I thought this was odd because it had cut the initial cuts for several parts further down the Y axis (see pic). The pencil marks where the CNC stopped.

I have an SR44 with the X3. I also checked the .ini file as i saw that referenced in a thread and included a screen shot of that and it looks like there still should be room on the Y axis.

Any chance there is something i can fix here? Of course it is Saturday ... I did send a note to Camaster support but not sure if they look at those over the weekend.


Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot 2020-10-17 Y limit error.jpg (18.8 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg Screenshot Soft limit.jpg (14.8 KB, 18 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_4961.jpg (90.4 KB, 19 views)

Last edited by MARSIMI; 10-17-2020 at 11:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2020, 01:45 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,744
Default

The one time I've gotten Y axis limit warnings/stops is when my toolpath vector extended a little too far, either off the front of the machine or at the back of the bed. Check your toolpath vectors that are in those areas carefully.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2020, 02:23 PM
MARSIMI MARSIMI is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 37
Default

Thanks Jim - they actually look shorter than those on the other side of the table. Is the soft limit set on each side of the table with the x axis somehow?

Looks like there is room on the cnc screen using the numbers and the picture and the GCode reference is also u see the limit. Not sure if this is limit is set anywhere else in the uni file or software - I would not think so but something is wrong:(
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2020, 05:13 PM
MARSIMI MARSIMI is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 37
Default

Jim -

is there a way to save my XO and positioning so that I can leave everything until I can get a hold of Camaster support? I would like to use what was cut if I can. I hate to waste a weekend without it but i can leave the plywood on it.

Also - I have an SR44 which i think should be able to cut a full 49" - and there is a lot of room on the Y end of the table where this turned off.

Am I reading the file correctly that the soft limit is set to 49 and the x to 70? I am assuming the 70 for the x axis is to account for the recoil prep I added to the machine when i got it earlier this year. I am not familiar with the coding or what each item does - also, Is there someplace else this may be?

Since I have had this - less than 6 months the support team has change a good handful of the configurations that they said should have been changed before it left, so it would not surprise me to find another.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2020, 05:21 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,744
Default

Since the error is a y+ I believe that's a vector that's trying to cut too far toward the back of the machine. It only takes a "proverbial red hair" too far to trigger the error/stop. Check your WINCNC.INI file for what the Y+ limit is and in your file, draw a guide line at exactly that point parallel to the X axis. Zoom in and inspect along that line to see if there are any vectors in the drawing that touch or go beyond that line.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2020, 05:27 PM
MARSIMI MARSIMI is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 37
Default

ok i will have to try to see how to even do that - this was generated from Mosaic. Give there are a few other parts that were cut further back along the Y axis I thought it should have cut
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-17-2020, 05:31 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,744
Default

"Something" is trying to cut farther back than the table limit...
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-17-2020, 05:34 PM
MARSIMI MARSIMI is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 37
Default

Makes sense - no idea how to see that in Mosaic. Is it worth move the soft limit or better to ask Camaster?

If better to ask them, do you know if i can save the XO settings when I shut down or will those just be gone? No sense having this run until then
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-17-2020, 05:47 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,744
Default

You can save X-Y zero positions in WinCNC on your control computer...up to 10 by default, but the number can be increased by changing a setting in WINCNC.INI. I use this feature for defining preset X-Y zero positions for fixtures and other repetitive work, etc. But WinCNC will also preserve the most recent relative X-Y zero you set until you change it or set back to machine default with a command. Front, left corner is the machine default.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-17-2020, 05:56 PM
MARSIMI MARSIMI is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 37
Default

ok thanks - I did not realize it saved the last XO. I have been setting it each time I used it, one of the problems I had when I first got the machine was that it lost them after each job, tech support found the problem quickly and changed it. I thought you had to do this during each set up.

Thank you for your help!!

I have some emails into tech support and am hoping they can help me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.