CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Recoil Indexing Lathe (4th Axis)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-07-2013, 08:53 AM
Pete Cyr Pete Cyr is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Suffolk VA
Posts: 382
Default

I would ask for a price from camaster
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-07-2013, 09:23 AM
james mcgrew's Avatar
james mcgrew james mcgrew is offline
Administrator, (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ridgeway sc
Posts: 6,787
Default

Mick I know Luca and some of the fellows at HSD (Joey got a kick outa learning I speak Italian ) yet I have had several spindles done at PDS

http://www.pdscolombo.com/
__________________
James McGrew
CAMaster ATC 508
The principle of Measure twice cut once has not been replaced by a CNC

www.mcgrewwoodwork.com

https://www.facebook.com/pg/Mcgrew-W...=page_internal

Camera 1 ATC Closeup !
https://video.nest.com/live/esNTrZ
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-07-2013, 11:44 AM
Bruce Page Bruce Page is offline
Stinger I Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,463
Default

Ouch! Unexpected expenses like that suck!
__________________
Bruce Page
Retired Hobbyist
2013 Stinger 1 SR23
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
KRS USB Keypad
Mick Martin Table
Aspire 8.5, WinCNC
Chips-a-flyin’
brucep128@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-07-2013, 01:05 PM
Brian O Brian O is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sykesvile Md
Posts: 509
Default

First off I hope you were clear of any flying shrapnel and are ok. By the looks of the parts that cutter was there for a while. How did you shut down the machine. Is there an emergency shut off button easily accessible on the router for this type of situation?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-07-2013, 02:55 PM
eandico eandico is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,282
Default

Some have asked why they can't get their spindles closer to the head stock.
This is the reason why camaster sets tthe limits away from the head stock to avoid collision.
I have changed my setting as well and could also Have a collision. Just a word of warning.

Sorry Mick!! That is the kind of $$$$ I hate to spend too.......
__________________
Best,
Nick
www.theeandicompany.com
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-07-2013, 04:16 PM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 3,400
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian O View Post
First off I hope you were clear of any flying shrapnel and are ok. By the looks of the parts that cutter was there for a while. How did you shut down the machine. Is there an emergency shut off button easily accessible on the router for this type of situation?
There are three ways you can stop and CAMaster machine, I have an extra way.
1. Press the spacebar on your keyboard, this will pause the machine the spindle/router will still remain turning but it will stop any movement on the axis's
2. Press the ESC button on your keyboard, this will stop the machine and turn off the spindle/router.
3. Press the red emergency button on the control box this will do the same as #2.
4. I also have a wired keypad (pendant) that I operate my machine with, it also has a pause and a stop button.

I always keep my finger by the stop button on my wired keypad for the first few minutes while running a new file .... just in case. I was able to stop the CNC within a second or two. I was running the spindle a 16,000 RPM and a feed rate of 200 in/min.

I know why it happened (which is a good thing) during my design in Aspire I set X0Y0 in the center of my design, when I created my toolpath it also created X0Y0 in the center. So when I loaded the .tap file into Wincnc and and ran the file the router bit went to the lower left hand corner to start cutting. I was using the lathe say for example my work piece was 10" long and I have my router 5" away from my chuck it wouldn't have been a problem, instead I had the router bit say 1" away from the chuck. There is a preview button on the Wincnc screen that shows where the router bit is going to travel, I always use it but this time I missed it.

I have attached a picture below, on the left is a design where X0Y0 is the the center, on the right X0Y0 is in the lower left hand corner. One of the golden rules when creating and design and running it on the CNC is to have X0Y0 in the same position on your machine.



Here is the preview in Aspire and a preview in Wincnc, in the Wincnc preview I have colored my table with a red line. You can see the design goes off the table, if I had run my project on the table I would have gotten an error message because Wincnc runs the file 1000's of code lines in advance.



Here is the correct way I should have done it.

__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 9.5 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-11-2013, 08:12 PM
bmc0787 bmc0787 is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 162
Default

Hi Mick
Did you get the spindle repaired yet?
Just wondering if it was a rebuild or a new spindle
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-13-2013, 11:43 AM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 3,400
Default

I actually got my Spindle back last Friday May 10th but was in Montana over the weekend so I will be installing the rebuilt spindle this evening.

I am paying for the spindle overhaul myself but CAMaster helped my with contacting HSD and all the paperwork, thank you Thomas and Jim.
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 9.5 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-16-2013, 11:30 PM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 3,400
Thumbs up Update - update

I installed my overhauled spindle and did some minor adjustments in the alinement, I ran a few test cuts then milled my spoilboard 14 minutes and 4 seconds for a 5 x 8 table. I removed .015, 1600 rpm and 700 in/min.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Mill spoilboard.JPG (62.9 KB, 65 views)
File Type: jpg machine time.JPG (32.6 KB, 51 views)
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 9.5 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!

Last edited by Mick Martin; 05-16-2013 at 11:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-17-2013, 12:16 AM
de5 de5 is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Honea Path, SC
Posts: 916
Default

Mick, I'm glad you have it running again. I hope this down time gave you a chance to get acquainted with your new laser.
__________________
Charlie Hind
Cobra 404 ATC with 12 tool positions & 4th Axis (2012-present)
(2006-2012 - K2 CNC... sold in 2012 to buy the Cobra)
WinCNC
www.hindocarina.com
http://facebook.com/hindocarina
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.