CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Recoil Indexing Lathe (4th Axis)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2016, 03:23 PM
fcfoley fcfoley is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Newan, Georgia
Posts: 57
Default "A" axis rotation problem

So I finally tried to use my rotary and ran into a problem. A-axis rotation is sporadic. It's hard to describe but I'll try. I set VCarve for a simple rounding tool path which was going to use a 1/2 end mill and travel down the Y axis as the blank rotated on the A asis. It began ok with 2 nice clean rotations then as it traveled down the Y axis the A rotation got incrementally smaller and smaller.
I aborted the process and stated to mess around. One thing I found out was in WINCNC using the A keys will move the A-axis momentarily while the position indicator continues to show rotation but there is no movement. Not sure where to look for the problem. Attached is a picture to illustrate what happened.

Thanks
Frank
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20160508_141627.jpg (96.0 KB, 64 views)
__________________
Frank
Stinger II (SR-44)
3.0 kW Spindle w/speed control
Index Lathe
Performance kit, VCarve Pro 8.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2016, 03:57 PM
JohnnyCNC's Avatar
JohnnyCNC JohnnyCNC is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,148
Send a message via Skype™ to JohnnyCNC
Default

Post your tap file.
__________________
JohnnyCNC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2016, 04:39 PM
fcfoley fcfoley is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Newan, Georgia
Posts: 57
Default

Johnny,
I've attached the tap file. Question, shouldn't I be able to move the A axis via WINCNC like moving along the X and Y?
Additionally I've tried rebooting the computer and the stinger. I've also zero'd A.

Thanks again for your help
Frank
Attached Files
File Type: tap Rounding Toolpath.tap (4.4 KB, 18 views)
__________________
Frank
Stinger II (SR-44)
3.0 kW Spindle w/speed control
Index Lathe
Performance kit, VCarve Pro 8.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-08-2016, 05:34 PM
JohnnyCNC's Avatar
JohnnyCNC JohnnyCNC is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,148
Send a message via Skype™ to JohnnyCNC
Default

The WinCNC viewer is 2 dimensional. It only shows X and Y moves. Even Z doesn't show on the viewer.
__________________
JohnnyCNC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-08-2016, 06:36 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,766
Default

Sounds like a loose connection?
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-08-2016, 06:37 PM
JohnnyCNC's Avatar
JohnnyCNC JohnnyCNC is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,148
Send a message via Skype™ to JohnnyCNC
Default

File should work.
__________________
JohnnyCNC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-08-2016, 07:02 PM
fcfoley fcfoley is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Newan, Georgia
Posts: 57
Default

Unfortunately, I'm doing better job of confusing the problem then explaining it.
In the 1st attached image I'm referring to numerical location that X,Y,Z and A are at. When you manually drive any of these X,Y,Z as the machine moves so does the numerical location. I am not seeing this with the A axis. I'm almost certain that some months ago when I was just playing around, I could get the rotary to move just by manually selecting the A buttons. I can't figure what has changed.
In the 2nd image, A axis was advanced to 2580 with no movement. If I continue to advance A axis I will get sporadic moves but nothing consistent. I've zero'd A out multiple times and there is no consistency as to when the A axis will rotate.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg WINCNC.jpg (21.5 KB, 28 views)
File Type: jpg WINCNC 2.jpg (21.6 KB, 22 views)
__________________
Frank
Stinger II (SR-44)
3.0 kW Spindle w/speed control
Index Lathe
Performance kit, VCarve Pro 8.0
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-08-2016, 07:10 PM
fcfoley fcfoley is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Newan, Georgia
Posts: 57
Default

Gary, I've reseated the cable from the computer to the machine. I've reseated the WINCNC card, I reseated the connection on the servo motor and the connections on the rotary controller appear tight.
__________________
Frank
Stinger II (SR-44)
3.0 kW Spindle w/speed control
Index Lathe
Performance kit, VCarve Pro 8.0
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-08-2016, 07:38 PM
Michael Mezalick's Avatar
Michael Mezalick Michael Mezalick is offline
CAMaster Owner, (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,641
Default

Frank,
My guess is that there's a loose wire somewhere..
Check them all again, even if it looks tight..
Looks can be deceiving..
Michael
__________________
Michael Mezalick
Cobra, WINCNC

3-D Modeling
https://carveddetails.com

mm@mezalick.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-08-2016, 08:30 PM
mike.davison mike.davison is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bolton, Massachusetts
Posts: 448
Default

Frank,

Another thing to check is that the chuck is firmly connected to the spindle. I have had a similar failure and it was because the chuck would move under heavy load.

I've also had the rotary drive "skip"/"slip"/something-a-rather a couple times (and we have the same machine). To avoid the this, I've adopted a lighter approach -- slower speeds, 1/8" or less cut depth, etc. This, along with using a firmly-attached, better chuck, has eliminated the problem for me and I produced a few pieces that looked like your sample.

Cheers
__________________
Mike Davison
Stinger II 4x4, Recoil, spindle, FTC, Aspire, Sketchup
http://www.DavisonWoodworks.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.