CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Recoil Indexing Lathe (4th Axis)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-01-2017, 03:20 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CAMaster friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,820
Default

There are 2 ways to accomplish a leg similar to what Kevin has shown here.

The first, and I believe this is the method that Kevin used, is to make a model of the leg, wrap it for machining and then cut on the rotary axis. In Kevin's video this is shown using a rotary raster cut method.

Due to the need to generate a 3D model, this method is limited to Aspire users. VCarve users that can have a model provided for them by an Aspire users are fully able to cut similar files.

The second, which is available to both Aspire and VCPro users is to use the Molding Toolpath, which should return similar, if not better results. There is no 3D model generated, nor required. In most cases this will not be an issue unless there would be a need for subsequent toolpaths to interact with or be applied to the toolpathed shape.

There are numerous tutorial videos that show these processes, along with plenty of additional info in the Help Contents and Reference Manual
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-01-2017, 03:24 PM
mike.davison mike.davison is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bolton, Massachusetts
Posts: 467
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DHouse View Post
Can anyone here explain how to do this ?
Can this be done using v carve pro V8.5?
I've only used Aspire. I think to do any 3D work, rotary or not, with VCP you'd need to start with 3D model from an external source. I'm sure folks knowledgeable about VCP will provide a better answer.

Using Aspire, you create a rotary job, create a vector that defines the leg profile, do a 2-rail sweep of that profile and then wrap that profile using the rotary tools. Vectric has some great tutorial videos out there for this.
__________________
Mike Davison
Stinger II 4x4, Recoil, spindle, FTC, Aspire, Sketchup
http://www.DavisonWoodworks.com/
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-01-2017, 04:39 PM
DHouse DHouse is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spokane WA.
Posts: 63
Default

To both Gary and Mike

Can a rhino model work for this?
__________________
Stinger 1
PC 3.25
WinCNC
V-CarvePro, Rhino (Mac)
FTC
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-01-2017, 04:51 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CAMaster friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,820
Default

If it is an appropriately scaled model in a file format that VCPro can import, then yes
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-01-2017, 04:58 PM
mike.davison mike.davison is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bolton, Massachusetts
Posts: 467
Default

What my hero Gary said. As an example, Rhino can generate STL and VCP can import STL.
__________________
Mike Davison
Stinger II 4x4, Recoil, spindle, FTC, Aspire, Sketchup
http://www.DavisonWoodworks.com/
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-02-2019, 10:21 AM
mike.davison mike.davison is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bolton, Massachusetts
Posts: 467
Default Sure looks like continuous turning

Alrighty.... Kevin's video shows, I believe, a roughing pass using a Z level raster, but what is used for the finish pass? This looks like the most efficient, dare I say, continuous rotation, approach, which I'd like to do, but cannot seem to find the right Aspire magic words. It must be obvious, but.... Help?



Quote:
Originally Posted by KickIt View Post
Below is a video on making a couple legs that are going on a large table.

Walnut material. The blanks were 8" cubes 25" long. It is not shown in the video but I cut the corners off the blanks and then turned the round.

I also made a test piece out of Blue foam to verify the cut, you will see a couple shots of it at the end.

YouTube Link

Vectric Aspire 8.5 on a CAMaster CNC.

Thanks to Gary for helping me with the PP error for Tool change. If you are doing ATC on the Recoil you might have a XY zero issue on other tools past the first tool.
__________________
Mike Davison
Stinger II 4x4, Recoil, spindle, FTC, Aspire, Sketchup
http://www.DavisonWoodworks.com/
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-02-2019, 02:28 PM
rcrawford rcrawford is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,255
Default

I recently removed the recoil from my Cobra and set my variable speed lathe up in its place (fastened it to the concrete to hold it in position). I find this much more useful. My lathe has a VFD and a 3 phase motor, so I can accurately set the speed with a dial (I should be able to control it from WinCNC, if I ever got around to that).

Then I just set the lathe speed, and do straight line profile cut, projected onto my model. I could cut a leg like that in less than 20 minutes, including the roughing passes.

My lathe has a manual indexer every 15 degrees, so if I need to cut in mortises or flats, I can set the indexer to the angle I want and cut away.

I'd post some pictures, but I can't seem to get pictures to work on this forum anymore. . .
__________________
Russell Crawford
Cobra 408 ATC with recoil
Alberta, Canada
www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-02-2019, 02:51 PM
TimPa TimPa is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: nw pa
Posts: 123
Default

very nice, I am very excited to get to the lathe, when I get there.... your video was inspirational. thanks!
__________________
Panther PT-404 (aluminum)
6 position ATC w/5hpHSD, Aspire 9.5/WinCNC, Recoil, Laser, Hurricane
near bottom of the learning curve!!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-02-2019, 03:12 PM
mike.davison mike.davison is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bolton, Massachusetts
Posts: 467
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcrawford View Post
I recently removed the recoil from my Cobra and set my variable speed lathe up in its place
So... you're using the lathe with the Cobra, replacing the Recoil, or as a completely separate, standalone CNC lathe? Sounds like you're using the lathe as the rotary on your Cobra... interesting.

I can't upload photos either. Wassupwiththat?
__________________
Mike Davison
Stinger II 4x4, Recoil, spindle, FTC, Aspire, Sketchup
http://www.DavisonWoodworks.com/
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-02-2019, 07:48 PM
rcrawford rcrawford is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,255
Default

Yes, I dragged the lathe over to the position that the recoil was (After removing the recoil completely) and then set it up thin shims to be exactly parallel to the Y axis (and consistent Z from headstock to tailstock), then fastened it to the concrete so it wouldn't shake out of position. Then I just use the spindle as a lathe tool.

I can round a 30" x 2" square block in about 3 minutes, to a perfect 2" round. I did this so I could make some turned legs for a Hans Wegner chair I reproduced, and it worked wonderfully. I use a 1/2" end mill to round the blank in a single pass, then a 1/2" ballnose to cut the profile in a single pass. I turn the lathe at 175rpm in reverse and move the gantry up the Y axis at 10ipm with the spindle at 18000rpm. Then I lock the indexer and cut in my mortises. This set-up has worked WAY more efficiently than the recoil ever did, and I can turn the lathe up to 1200rpm to make sanding easier.

Just for fun, I cut a bunch of french rolling pins for family for christmas. Single pass (no rounding pass first), 90 seconds each plus time for sanding on the lathe. Having the morse taper is much handier than the recoil threaded rod as well. . .
__________________
Russell Crawford
Cobra 408 ATC with recoil
Alberta, Canada
www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.