CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Software > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2018, 09:10 PM
Steve Burke Steve Burke is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Bonaire, Georgia
Posts: 42
Default Ramping into the material with Cut2D

Is it possible to ramp into the material using Vectric's Cut2D? I want to be able to mill into wood but so far I have not been able to do this with this program. The only thing I've been able to do is plunge into the material.
__________________
Stinger 1 SR-23
Windows 10
Vectric VCarve Pro
3.5 Milwaukee router
Prepped for recoil
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2018, 08:03 AM
adirondak5 adirondak5 is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Long Island , NY
Posts: 674
Default

Ramping values should be in the toolpath toolbar . Have you set the ramp values and checked the "add ramps to toolpath" box ?
__________________
Herb Holmes

Stinger I
Performance Pkg
Slotted table
WINCNC
Aspire 8.505
Porter Cable 2.25
CAMaster Stand
KRS USB Keypad


I've got to many clamps , and sometimes they are not enough
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2018, 08:23 AM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CAMaster friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,846
Default

You may have to check "Advanced Toolpath Options" to be able to see the ramping dialog box
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2018, 09:46 PM
Rlee1972 Rlee1972 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 461
Default

Did you find your answer as Gary noted?
__________________
Ron Lee
Blackshear, Ga
2018 Cobra Elite 5 x 10
HSD 12HP ATC
20 Tool Holder
25HP Regen Vac

2017 Panther 408
HSD 5HP ATC
6 Tool Rotary Carousel
Recoil Lathe
Laser
Aspire 9.0
PhotoVcarve



Be humble.
Be kind.
Be grateful.
Life is too short and prone to quickly change to live otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2018, 04:56 PM
Steve Burke Steve Burke is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Bonaire, Georgia
Posts: 42
Default

So far I have not been able to get the program to do what I want. I am using Cut2d. I have tried using the ramp values in the program but so far have not been able to make it work.
What I am trying to do is to make a star using a V bit, by plunging into the center and ramping up and out to the star points.
__________________
Stinger 1 SR-23
Windows 10
Vectric VCarve Pro
3.5 Milwaukee router
Prepped for recoil

Last edited by Steve Burke; 07-14-2018 at 04:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-14-2018, 06:08 PM
drummerjg drummerjg is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Addison, PA
Posts: 785
Default

Steve, I think you are getting confused on terminology. Ramping is for slowly starting a bit into your material vs plunging and then starting to cut. The process you are describing will occur naturally using the vcarve tool path. The bit will plung deeper into the material at the center of the star and pull up as it gets to the points to make nice sharp edges. It may even start at the edges and plunge to the center depending on the vector and other parameters set for the cut. Depending on any depth of cut you may have specified and the distance between the vectors you may see very little plunging or quite a bit.

Or am I misunderstanding your issue?
__________________
Joe Garber
Retired Hobbyist
Stinger 1 SR24
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
Indexing Lathe
WinCNC, Aspire 9.5, PhotoCarve
Storm Vacuum
drummerjg@icloud.com


How to count to 10 in Windows:
1,2,3,95,NT,2000,XP,Vista,7,8,10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-14-2018, 06:39 PM
Steve Burke Steve Burke is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Bonaire, Georgia
Posts: 42
Default

From what I can tell, what I am trying is a fluting type move. So I went ahead and upgraded to VCut pro and have already successfully made a star the way I want, and have already made a 50 star array for a flag.
When you have the right software anything is possible.
Thank all of you for trying to help me.
__________________
Stinger 1 SR-23
Windows 10
Vectric VCarve Pro
3.5 Milwaukee router
Prepped for recoil
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-14-2018, 09:43 PM
drummerjg drummerjg is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Addison, PA
Posts: 785
Default

Thats good to hear! It only took me 3 days to move up from Cut 2D. I think you will be much happier. I would love to see the flag you cut when its done...even just the 50 star array if you care to post.
__________________
Joe Garber
Retired Hobbyist
Stinger 1 SR24
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
Indexing Lathe
WinCNC, Aspire 9.5, PhotoCarve
Storm Vacuum
drummerjg@icloud.com


How to count to 10 in Windows:
1,2,3,95,NT,2000,XP,Vista,7,8,10
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-15-2018, 01:57 PM
Steve Burke Steve Burke is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Bonaire, Georgia
Posts: 42
Default

Will do. I have to go get the material first. :)
__________________
Stinger 1 SR-23
Windows 10
Vectric VCarve Pro
3.5 Milwaukee router
Prepped for recoil
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.