CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Cobra CNC Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2019, 07:18 AM
Terry Williams Terry Williams is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 212
Default Aluminum clamp on dust collection boot on Cobra - should it be insulated from frame?

I have been having some spurious VFD issues over last few months and am trying to isolate the culprit.

One possibility is static from the dust collector. I watched Gary's video on dust collection the other day and there was only one thing that might be an issue.

There is an aluminum clamp on my circa 2012 Cobra that holds the dustboot by clamping the PVC pipe - the video suggested that the dust collection duct should be isolated from the router frame with at least a 1/2 inch insulator.

I have the same DC grounding scheme recommended (internal bare wire and hose coil wire grounded at DC) except, the aluminum clamp electrically ties the PVC duct on dust boot to the router frame since there is no insulating standoff involved.

Has anyone tried replacing the aluminum clamp with a plastic standoff to help static issues?

Thanks,

Terry
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DC_Ground.jpg (42.8 KB, 75 views)
__________________
Terry Williams
Cobra 510 with Recoil
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2019, 09:32 AM
DVE2000 DVE2000 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 317
Default

I would say yes. Because while my DC system was adequately grounded, I'd cut a hose holder out of HDPE. I had intermittent e-stop issues here and there. Since I replaced the plastic with a piece of plywood, I've had no issues. There are some pics of the plastic holder here: https://www.camheads.org/showthread....ht=hose+holder

I've since modified the design a bit, but the plywood version was created with two pieces of half inch Baltic Birch glued together. It looks very similar.
__________________
Gary
2018 Stinger II SR-44, 1.7kW Spindle, Performance Premium, Recoil, Gantry Lift, Cyclone
Fusion 360
Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2019, 10:39 PM
CosmosK CosmosK is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 802
Default

Router frame: I ran connections grounding the Z axis plates to the gantry and then down to the steel frame. As I saw it, the path for the electricity to get to the steel frame (ground) was through the ball screws. Considering they are attached to the motor, I opted to give them a better route. I don't have static issues, but my programs aren't very long. I also run a ground wire back up the DC hose.
__________________
2014 Stinger II (SR-44)
1.7 kW Spindle w/ speed control, Performance kit, VCarve Pro
www.cosmos-industrial.com
>Pen Marking Tools
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2019, 06:34 AM
Terry Williams Terry Williams is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 212
Default

Thanks guys,

Looks like it may be worth the effort to try both suggestions.
__________________
Terry Williams
Cobra 510 with Recoil
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.