CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > The Water Cooler > The Water Cooler

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-13-2020, 12:30 AM
Bruce Page Bruce Page is offline
Stinger I Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,528
Default Win7 to Win10 Revisited

This was discussed a couple of years ago but don’t remember the details. Are there any problems upgrading from Win7 to 10? I am mostly worried about the WinCNC PCI bus compatibility. I have a 2013 Stinger.
__________________
Bruce Page
Retired Hobbyist
2013 Stinger 1 SR23
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
KRS USB Keypad
Mick Martin Table
Aspire 10, WinCNC
Chips-a-flyin’
brucep128@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2020, 07:47 AM
T.R.MacMunn T.R.MacMunn is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mtn.Grove Ontario
Posts: 2,341
Default

Windows 10 has a lot of "bloatware" on it ...... useless crap, for those of us who need a "work" computer.
I just had to change up to 10. Make sure you turn off all the "updates" ........ they'll mess you up big time.
__________________
TR
www.trmacsigns.com
CAMaster MC4836 named Jemima
Aspire 3.5
Mach3
CoreldrawX3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2020, 08:48 AM
TimPa TimPa is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: nw pa
Posts: 280
Default

non cnc related - i have win 7 home and tried several times to upgrade to win 10 when it was all the hype. but received errors every time i attempted. looked into it last week, and it is still free i guess. but at least for me and win 7 home version, it was going to take 2 upgrades to get there.

interested to hear how you make out...
__________________
Panther PT-404 (aluminum)
6 position ATC w/5hpHSD, Aspire 9.5/WinCNC, Recoil, Laser, Hurricane
near bottom of the learning curve!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2020, 08:55 AM
mfirlotte mfirlotte is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 173
Default

If the PC is being used with your CNC...

I vaguely remember from a previous discussion that the mother/daughter boards in the PC that came with my 2013 Stinger would need to be sent back to WinCNC to be upgraded to work with Windows 10.

Not 100% sure on this but best to look into it if using this PC with your CNC.
__________________
====
Mitch
====
Stinger 1 (2014)
1.7Kw spindle / Recoil Lathe
Performance Package (FTC / On-Off via G-code / Laser Cross Hair)
Aspire 8 / WinCNC / Hexagon
Epilog 45watt Laser
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2020, 10:15 AM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,644
Default

The previous comment is correct. You need to check which version of the WinCNC hardware you have before you do this upgrade.

That said, Win10 has been ROCK SOLID for me, unlike Win7 and previous over the years. And I'm a MacOS user primarily for full disclosure...
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2020, 12:05 PM
mike.davison mike.davison is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bolton, Massachusetts
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Becker View Post
The previous comment is correct. You need to check which version of the WinCNC hardware you have before you do this upgrade.
I updated to Win 10 a year ago. Contacted CAMaster support to ask about possible issues. They sent me to WinCNC who provided instructions for checking WinCNC versions/etc and doing the actual update. The instructions were nice as they removed some variables from the process.

I did not have any problems with the update nor any problems running on win10 after. YMMV.
__________________
Mike Davison www.DavisonWoodworks.com
Stinger II with Recoil, GCNC Sidewinder Lathe, Aspire, Sketchup

Last edited by mike.davison; 01-13-2020 at 02:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2020, 12:32 PM
keithrhyde keithrhyde is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Winchester, Virginia
Posts: 343
Default Fwiw

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Page View Post
This was discussed a couple of years ago but don’t remember the details. Are there any problems upgrading from Win7 to 10? I am mostly worried about the WinCNC PCI bus compatibility. I have a 2013 Stinger.
Bruce, I contacted WINCNC directly and they provided good advice on how to upgrade to Win10. It has been rock solid since. IMHO they are the experts since they created and support the product. They are also very pleasant and helpful folks. I have contacted them several times on issues and they always respond.
__________________
Keith Hyde, Winchester, VA
2016 Stinger 1, 1.7KW HF Spindle HSD
Performance Package Pro, Vac, lathe, Aspire 9
Former Marine and retired Seabee Master Chief.
Furniture is my hobby not my vocation.
hyde.consulting@comcast.net
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2020, 04:00 PM
Bruce Page Bruce Page is offline
Stinger I Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,528
Default

Thanks all, I will contact WinCNC.
My reluctance to upgrade is due to a few expensive but old XP based programs that I use often; Autocad, Photoshop, and a couple of others, that run well with the Win7 Pro “Virtual PC” software. It’s doubtful they’ll run on Win10.
Both my office & cnc PC’s are Win7 Pro.
__________________
Bruce Page
Retired Hobbyist
2013 Stinger 1 SR23
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
KRS USB Keypad
Mick Martin Table
Aspire 10, WinCNC
Chips-a-flyin’
brucep128@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-13-2020, 08:07 PM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 3,436
Default

If I remember correctly upgrading from Windows 7 to Windows 10 requires a new .dat file from Wincnc ..... there might be a small cost involved.

I made a Video installing a demo version of a WinCNC 64 bit December 2011, you can use this video to install, update or re-install any version of Wincnc https://youtu.be/dnQBS2syUAc

One of the most important point is to create a complete backup of your Wincnc folder ...... just incase.
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 9.5 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-13-2020, 09:32 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,644
Default

Quote:
NOTE: Windows 8 and 10 require WinCNC version 2.6 or 3.0. Please make sure that your software license and hardware are capable of supporting WinCNC version 2.6 or 3.0 before upgrading your Windows OS.

NOTE: WinCNC 3.0 requires a different daughter board than 2.6 or previous versions. If you are running a 2.6 or older version of WinCNC you will have to upgrade your software and purchase a new daughter board in order to run WinCNC 3.0
http://www.wincnc.net/
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.