CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Software > Mozaik Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2018, 10:26 PM
Doug S Doug S is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 94
Default Learned something new about the material thickness today

I was drawing up cabinets using the standard .75" plywood materials. When I went to the CNC, i changed the material there on the optimizer screen to .718 as the plywood measured. I figured it would override the thickness, as that was the last operation.
IT DOES NOT.
My dados were sloppy loose and ugly.
When we changed the material in the library first, the optimizer took that setting as the new default and cut super tight dados.
Live and learn.
__________________
2014 Cobra 5x10 ATC w/ 10 hp spindle, Mozaik, 25 hp Becker High Vacuum Pump, 5 HP Oneida DC-Central Texas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2018, 11:36 PM
The real JP The real JP is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 322
Default

Yeah, sometimes it's a pain measuring and averaging ply to get a decent thickness.

For some changes to take effect you need to save and restart Mozaik, don't remember what I was doing but that was the issue.

How are ply dovetails? I typically use a domino or finger joints, but one of these days I'll do a set for some shop cabs and see what's up.
__________________
Jpscustomshop@gmail.com

Industrial electrician by day, Cabinet and furniture maker by evening and weekend. Cnc newb.

June 2017 Stinger 3 SR48
3kw spindle, FTC, Laser, Recoil, Hurricane
V Carve, Mozaik
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2018, 07:38 AM
Doug S Doug S is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 94
Default

The dovetails are quite good.
The fun part is the setup of the joints in the drawers parameters file.
The settings affect one another. Several are greyed out and you cannot change them. When you change their corresponding value, it changes the locked value.
This is very important to know and record.

We were having loose joints so we started moving numbers around to try to tighten them up. We saw very little change so we decided to make one larger change at a time to SEE what change it made. That was the AAHAA moment.
We changed the outside width the pin by .05 and it changed the inside width automatically. This had a large affect on the tightness of the joint. Another large change and the joint was SPOT ON. We now have a joint that you put glue in and tap together with no fasteners.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Dovetailset.jpg (94.9 KB, 41 views)
__________________
2014 Cobra 5x10 ATC w/ 10 hp spindle, Mozaik, 25 hp Becker High Vacuum Pump, 5 HP Oneida DC-Central Texas
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.