CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Software > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2014, 03:15 PM
Jadendo Jadendo is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Huntington Beach, California
Posts: 72
Default VCarve: RPM and final smooth cut

Guys,

Is the actual spindle RPM controlled by Vcarve RPM bit information?
My spindle runs at the same speed regardless of what RPM i put in the tool custom fields. Please help.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2014, 03:29 PM
Bruce Page Bruce Page is offline
Stinger I Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,463
Default

It depends, you should update your signature to include your machine particulars.
__________________
Bruce Page
Retired Hobbyist
2013 Stinger 1 SR23
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
KRS USB Keypad
Mick Martin Table
Aspire 8.5, WinCNC
Chips-a-flyin’
brucep128@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2014, 03:39 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,760
Default

Jadendo...
If you have a Stinger 1...... No (option coming in near future
If you have a Stinger 2 or 3...... Only with the "Spindle Speed Control Option" (or D/A Speed Control)
If you have a Cobra..... Yes
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2014, 03:45 PM
Bruce Page Bruce Page is offline
Stinger I Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,463
Default

Gary, will I be able to upgrade my current 1 year old Stinger 1?
__________________
Bruce Page
Retired Hobbyist
2013 Stinger 1 SR23
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
KRS USB Keypad
Mick Martin Table
Aspire 8.5, WinCNC
Chips-a-flyin’
brucep128@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2014, 04:00 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,760
Default

Bruce...
The upgrade will only be available for the 2014 (small attached control box) Stinger 1's. (Yet another reason to upgrade)
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2014, 04:04 PM
Bruce Page Bruce Page is offline
Stinger I Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,463
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Campbell View Post
Bruce...
The upgrade will only be available for the 2014 (small attached control box) Stinger 1's. (Yet another reason to upgrade)
Ahh, if only I was born rich.. I put 20k into the house last week for a new roof and a HVAC upgrade. I just ain't fair!
__________________
Bruce Page
Retired Hobbyist
2013 Stinger 1 SR23
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
KRS USB Keypad
Mick Martin Table
Aspire 8.5, WinCNC
Chips-a-flyin’
brucep128@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-21-2014, 04:05 PM
Jadendo Jadendo is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Huntington Beach, California
Posts: 72
Default ....

I got a Stinger III. It was just shipped to me last week.
where do i find this D/A thing? How do I operate it? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-21-2014, 05:24 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,760
Default

Jadendo...
IF you purchased the "Spindle Speed Control" option, then it should be on there and working. Let Tech support know if it is not (working). If you didn't purchase the option, then it is available as a retrofit kit.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-21-2014, 05:34 PM
Jadendo Jadendo is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Huntington Beach, California
Posts: 72
Default ...

Would you have a picture of the speed control retrokit?
My Stinger III has a keypad thing with a speed knob on the side of the Stinger Head Unit. Is this what we are talking about?

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-21-2014, 05:38 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,760
Default

Jadendo....
No. In fact if that control pad is on the outside of the control box, you most likely do not have the speed control. IF you can tell me what name your machine was ordered under, I can look up the work order.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.