CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Software > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2021, 03:30 PM
Jimmy Carter Jimmy Carter is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 13
Default Sketchup Pro or Fusion 360

I am anxiously awaiting my new Panther 510.
I am new to CNC routing however have been plasma cutting 2d for 20 years.

In preparation to be able cut 3D models I have been working with Sketchup Pro and am really enjoying it.
My problem is that I am concerned that it may not produce really good 3D models for carving.
Will circles be round enough?
Will there be a high enough resolution of the surface of the model to give me great results or do I need to move over to Fusion 360 to create my 3d models.

I am not really worried abut the 2D stuff as I feel I could generate it inside Vcarve.

Am I concerned about nothing or should I be looking at another application to generate my 3D models.

Thanks for any help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2021, 05:57 PM
rcnewcomb rcnewcomb is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Posts: 75
Default

Are your 3D models artistic, or engineering? (Example: bas relief carvings vs tape dispensers)

What is a representative example of what you want to produce in 3D?
__________________
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2021, 09:32 PM
Jimmy Carter Jimmy Carter is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 13
Default

The vast majority of the 3D models I will be creating will be engineering type models.

I am sure that I will want to do some artistic type modeling as well and it seems like Aspire will work well them.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2021, 10:13 AM
DVE2000 DVE2000 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 567
Default

It's worthwhile learning Fusion 360 then. It's way better than sketchup. And if you'd rather do toolpathing in Vectric, you can always export the models as STLs.
__________________
Gary
2018 Stinger II SR-44, 1.7kW Spindle, Performance Premium, Recoil, Gantry Lift, Cyclone
Fusion 360
Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2021, 10:46 AM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 2,061
Default

Just keep in mind that for a Panther level machine, you'll likely want the fully licenced version of Fusion360 if you decide to go with that for your 3D work over Aspire. Another option to explore is Rhinoceros...many folks prefer that over F360 for various reasons. And then there is MasterCam. Etc. Lots of choices when you start looking at 3D modeling.

Aspire has met my needs to-date and it was an easy upgrade from the VCP that came with my Camaster machine.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-17-2021, 02:08 PM
Jimmy Carter Jimmy Carter is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 13
Default

Thank you guys for your input.

Gary are you suggesting Fusion 360 because of the available modeling tools or because the actual model data will be better than Sketchup's model.

Put another way lets say I have an odd shape like this attached object.
If it was just as easy to create in Sketchup as it was in Fusion and both models were imported into Vcarve to generate tool paths, would both objects machined out of the same material have the same fit and finish?

Thank you againOdd Shape.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-17-2021, 02:57 PM
DVE2000 DVE2000 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 567
Default

They *should*. I haven't used Sketchup in a few years. And have not grabbed STLs for Vectric from it. The parametric and timeline modification capabilities of Fusion 360 are far superior to anything in Sketchup. F360 does have a bigger learning curve than Sketchup, though.
__________________
Gary
2018 Stinger II SR-44, 1.7kW Spindle, Performance Premium, Recoil, Gantry Lift, Cyclone
Fusion 360
Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-17-2021, 05:47 PM
DVE2000 DVE2000 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 567
Default

Just saw Jim's answer. You don't need to pay for a full license, however, any g-code you generate will use G1 for EVERYTHING. Even rapid moves. So they'll be slow.

It would be easy enough to go into the code and change the relevant rapids back to G0. Seems like a hassle for the money, but a script/regular expression would be able to fix that pretty quickly.
__________________
Gary
2018 Stinger II SR-44, 1.7kW Spindle, Performance Premium, Recoil, Gantry Lift, Cyclone
Fusion 360
Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-17-2021, 06:52 PM
Jimmy Carter Jimmy Carter is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks Gary.
I have made a few runs at Fusion and agree there are a lot of things to like about it.
Sketchup is just so darn intuitive its hard not to want to use it.

I may just have to wait to get my new machine and compare the outputs.

What are most of the guys around here using to generate original 3D models?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-17-2021, 08:11 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 2,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy Carter View Post

What are most of the guys around here using to generate original 3D models?
I use Aspire
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.