CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > The Water Cooler > New Forum Members

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #111  
Old 10-04-2018, 02:59 PM
Jim_in_PA Jim_in_PA is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 718
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DVE2000 View Post
I have a Bill of Lading. That's kind of exciting...
Indeed it is! Make sure you've got your arrangements setup to take delivery...no lift-gate is possible for a Stinger II. You either need a forklift with extended forks, an arrangement with a local roll-back tow truck to winch it off the tractor trailer or a trailer that's wide enough to be able to pick it up at the terminal directly.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 10-04-2018, 03:40 PM
DVE2000 DVE2000 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 144
Default

Yup, it's going to a depot, and I have a wrecker with a rollback all good to go.
__________________
Gary
2018 Stinger II SR-44, 1.7kW Spindle, Performance Premium, Recoil, Gantry Lift, Cyclone
Fusion 360
Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 10-04-2018, 06:44 PM
Jim_in_PA Jim_in_PA is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 718
Default

That will be easier than my transfer which was done in a parking lot down the street. The depot can set that sucker right on the roll-back with the fork lift and off you go! Terminal was way too far away for me to do that here.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 10-05-2018, 02:31 PM
DVE2000 DVE2000 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 144
Default

Waiting for the rollback to arrive!
CCF2F7B2-D7D0-44DB-B977-D36AC803E41A.jpg
__________________
Gary
2018 Stinger II SR-44, 1.7kW Spindle, Performance Premium, Recoil, Gantry Lift, Cyclone
Fusion 360
Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 10-09-2018, 04:56 PM
DVE2000 DVE2000 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 144
Default

I have what I think amounts to a really stupid question. I paid for a Cyclone upgrade, but CAMaster sent just the Cyclone and a filter with two 2" screw-in adapters. And my phenolic vac table (they mistakenly left off the T-slots, but they're going to send someone with a new top to fix this).

They didn't send a 3" male adapter for the Cycle, or any other connectors. This is because they don't know where or how you want to attach the vacuum. (But I wish they would have asked! And/or helped with a design. And maybe sent some other pieces. This irks me.)

I have to have mine under the table. There's not enough vertical height to put the filter vertical, and have a straight shot into the Cyclone input. I'd have to build a little stand too. The table has a 90 degree elbow pointing down, so that's not that helpful either. So it looks like I'll need to leave the filter lying sideways on the floor. Or sideways on a stand, but that seems a worse position. And from the looks of it to me, I'll need another 90 elbow to connect to the filter. And then probably 2 more 90 degree elbows and some piping to go from the filter output to the Cyclone.

From everything I've ever read about vacuum systems, 90 degree bends are bad. I already have some in the table piping and I'm about to add 3 more. :(

How have people typically mounted their vacuums and filters under their tables?

I've attached a few pics.IMG_6971.jpgIMG_6974.jpgIMG_6982.jpg
__________________
Gary
2018 Stinger II SR-44, 1.7kW Spindle, Performance Premium, Recoil, Gantry Lift, Cyclone
Fusion 360
Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 10-09-2018, 06:42 PM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 80
Default

In picture #3, can you turn the downward facing elbow 90deg and have it go directly into the filter and put the vacuum running parallel with the manifold?
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 10-09-2018, 07:55 PM
DVE2000 DVE2000 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarwes View Post
In picture #3, can you turn the downward facing elbow 90deg and have it go directly into the filter and put the vacuum running parallel with the manifold?
Nope. That elbow is welded. I realized that the power cord is a little shy of the plug. I could change out another nearby dryer plug to the NEMA L6-30, but seeing Iíd like the power switch in a handy location, Iíve changed the orientation a bit:
7148874A-176A-4BD7-A678-8259BDF36FA6.jpg
I think this may only require 2 additional 90 degree elbows, although the filter will end up upside down at an angle. :/
__________________
Gary
2018 Stinger II SR-44, 1.7kW Spindle, Performance Premium, Recoil, Gantry Lift, Cyclone
Fusion 360
Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 10-09-2018, 11:23 PM
The real JP The real JP is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 322
Default

Here is a pic under my table.

I didn't glue those pipes either, I put a bead of clear silicone around the joint. I was thinking I might have to change something but it works great.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0013[1].jpg (88.2 KB, 28 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0012[1].jpg (86.1 KB, 28 views)
__________________
Jpscustomshop@gmail.com

Industrial electrician by day, Cabinet and furniture maker by evening and weekend. Cnc newb.

June 2017 Stinger 3 SR48
3kw spindle, FTC, Laser, Recoil, Hurricane
V Carve, Mozaik
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 10-10-2018, 12:31 AM
DVE2000 DVE2000 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 144
Default

Thanks JP. Iíll do something similar then. I have less room under the table than you do, but I think this should work. How do you attach your spoilboard? What material is it? It seems like Iíll have to use MDF as the material. LDF just doesnít seem to be easily available.
__________________
Gary
2018 Stinger II SR-44, 1.7kW Spindle, Performance Premium, Recoil, Gantry Lift, Cyclone
Fusion 360
Aspire
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 10-10-2018, 02:55 AM
The real JP The real JP is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 322
Default

My plenum is 1" MDF I skimmed it flat and made sure the paint was off the top points and simply glued my 3/4" MDF spoilboard to it with wood glue.

Make sure you skim the spoilboard, then glue the skimmed side down. Then skim the top. You need to break that waxy seal from the press.

I think having a phenolic plenum will have you using epoxy to stick your spoilboard on.
__________________
Jpscustomshop@gmail.com

Industrial electrician by day, Cabinet and furniture maker by evening and weekend. Cnc newb.

June 2017 Stinger 3 SR48
3kw spindle, FTC, Laser, Recoil, Hurricane
V Carve, Mozaik
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.