CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Tips & Techniques > Router Bits

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-03-2011, 01:33 AM
papacraig papacraig is offline
Stinger Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Conway SC
Posts: 27
Default Milling Spoilboard bit

What bit should I use to mill the spoilboard and where can I get one? I just got a Stinger 1 and I am new to cnc. How do I make a toolpath to do the actual milling? Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-03-2011, 03:36 AM
tonywish tonywish is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Coaldale, CO 81222
Posts: 799
Default

Mike Mezalick posted this and it helped me:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here's what I do Tony.
In Aspire I draw a rectangle slightly larger ( + 3/4" ) than the size of my table, the actual cutting area on the CNC machine.
I then have a pocket tool path generated to cut only 1/8" down.
I position my spindle to the lower left corner on the machine ( home) and I move it 1/2" to the left, overhanging the table just a bit.
That becomes the new X0Y0
I use a 1-1/4" planner bit for HD.
Obviously, the larger the bit the quicker you'll be done.
I touch top on the surface and let it run.
You can get pretty fast only taking off 1/8". ( 500 - 700ipm)
Just remember to look for anything that may cause problems with the bit, ( broken off screws, tools left on the table, etc. )
Michael
__________________
Michael Mezalick
http://www.mezalick.com

Mick Martin also had some great advice. Do a search on Camheads.

Tony
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-03-2011, 08:57 AM
fixtureman
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

When I mill my spoil board I only take off .01 of an inch. If the whole suface is not touched then I rezero and rerun the tool path. You don't need to take off much just enough so you the whole board has some material removed. Once that is done the next time you only will need to take off the minimum material and the you can surface many more times without replacing the board.

Last edited by fixtureman; 12-03-2011 at 11:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-03-2011, 12:36 PM
Joey Jarrard's Avatar
Joey Jarrard Joey Jarrard is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calhoun, GA
Posts: 3,228
Default

Could have not said it better fixtureman
__________________
Joey Jarrard

US Router Tools
888-720-TOOL (8665)
www.usroutertools.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-03-2011, 12:50 PM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 3,437
Default

This is a great router bit for marching the spoilerboard here
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 9.5 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-03-2011, 05:38 PM
Michael Mezalick's Avatar
Michael Mezalick Michael Mezalick is offline
CAMaster Owner, (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,710
Default

I agree with fixtureman but yo'all know me and I REALLY use my spoilboard, hence the reason for the 1/8".
__________________
Michael Mezalick
Cobra, WINCNC

3-D Modeling
https://carveddetails.com

mm@mezalick.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-03-2011, 08:09 PM
fixtureman
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I don't worry about cuts in the spoil board I just want it flat.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-03-2011, 11:10 PM
Bob Savage Bob Savage is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 173
Default

So what if you know there's one or two Broken off screws? I've hit a couple screws in my time and except for the times I outright plowed through steel screw heads I have been surprised at how well the bits have dealt with it.

If I take off .05 at a time will I really waste my bit?
__________________
CAMaster Cobra CR-408 X3
http://www.savagewoodworks.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-04-2011, 09:52 AM
fixtureman
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

My spoil board is glued down no screws. In fact if you screw a spoil board down you can get movement.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-24-2011, 02:32 PM
Bob Savage Bob Savage is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 173
Default

Since nobody replied i thought i would follow up.

The answer is yes, a busted screw will destroy your bit. Bubye 1.5" mortising bit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Savage View Post
So what if you know there's one or two Broken off screws? I've hit a couple screws in my time and except for the times I outright plowed through steel screw heads I have been surprised at how well the bits have dealt with it.

If I take off .05 at a time will I really waste my bit?
__________________
CAMaster Cobra CR-408 X3
http://www.savagewoodworks.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bit, milling, spoilboard

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.