CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Panther Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2019, 05:13 PM
Bruce Bruce is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Dallas, GA
Posts: 42
Default Something tripped and now no movement

Today I was standing by the Panther and talking to a customer who was picking up a product that I ran... no file was running, I had ran one about 1 hour before..... as we were talking something tripped in the control box, sounded like a breaker tripping. Message I got when I checked the machine was "reset servo" error. I turned the machine and computer off... removed the serial cable, reattached it and now I get a "reset E Stop" command when I try to initialize and/ or warm up.... I assume this is the Emergency stop (I've only had the machine for a few months so a lot of this is new)...

Z axis is showing error.. the servo on the bottom left of the gantry is not lit up.. the others are.... not sure where to go with this until I call Camaster on Monday (hopefully they are open this coming week).. I was planning on making a few gifts today but that's is out the equation now.

This is the second issue I've had.. first one was the 2nd day I had it up and on.. one of the circuit boards went bad. Thankfully Camaster is 45 minutes away so hopefully I can get this fixed Monday.

Any suggestions until then.. I can run stuff tomorrow if I can get it going.

Thanks!
__________________
Bruce Jeansonne
decorativecabinets@comcast.net
CAMaster Panther 508
Laser Engraver
Hurricane Vacuum
WinCNC and VCarve Pro
https://www.facebook.com/decorativecabinets/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2019, 05:17 PM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 500
Default

Obvious, but did you try to reset the Estop a time or two? Make sure there is nothing (sawdust, etc) jammed up behind it.
__________________
Wes
Elite CNC Routing & Woodworks on Facebook
Steel 5X10 Panther
5Hp ATC spindle with 8 tool carousel
WinCNC
VcarvePro 9.5
15Hp FPZ vacuum, phenolic plenum
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2019, 05:39 PM
Bruce Bruce is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Dallas, GA
Posts: 42
Default

Yes, I also jiggled the wired on the connector just to be sure there was contact... thanks for the suggestion.
__________________
Bruce Jeansonne
decorativecabinets@comcast.net
CAMaster Panther 508
Laser Engraver
Hurricane Vacuum
WinCNC and VCarve Pro
https://www.facebook.com/decorativecabinets/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2019, 06:21 PM
carasel carasel is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 106
Default

Maybe check the e-stop switch with a tester?
__________________
Eddie Kitson
Cobra 5x8 ATC
5hp spindle
20hp regen vac
laser pointer
V carve 9.5
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-21-2019, 10:14 PM
Rlee1972 Rlee1972 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 534
Default

Periodically, we found we needed to take the multi-pin connectors from the computer to the control box off and blow the connector ends on both ends off and out. This alleviated many headaches we had began to run into.

+1 to the other comments above. Let us know what you find!
__________________
Ron Lee
Blackshear, Ga

https://www.facebook.com/pg/premierw...=page_internal

2018 Cobra Elite 5 x 10
HSD 12HP ATC
20 Tool Holder
25HP Regen Vac

2017 Panther 408
HSD 5HP ATC
6 Tool Rotary Carousel
Recoil Lathe
Laser
Aspire 9.5
PhotoVcarve



Be humble.
Be kind.
Be grateful.
Life is too short and prone to quickly change to live otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-22-2019, 08:55 AM
Bruce Bruce is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Dallas, GA
Posts: 42
Default

Thanks for the replies, I appreciate it... I'll give a call on Monday to Camaster to walk me through checking everything. I have tried the "normal" things that I went through when the circuit board went bad the first time... unplugging everything, restarting, etc..

Just a hickup in the road which will I'll get around. Thanks again and as we say down south.. Ya'll have a Merry Christmas!
__________________
Bruce Jeansonne
decorativecabinets@comcast.net
CAMaster Panther 508
Laser Engraver
Hurricane Vacuum
WinCNC and VCarve Pro
https://www.facebook.com/decorativecabinets/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-26-2019, 11:23 AM
guitarwes guitarwes is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Ga
Posts: 500
Default

Did you get this resolved Bruce?
__________________
Wes
Elite CNC Routing & Woodworks on Facebook
Steel 5X10 Panther
5Hp ATC spindle with 8 tool carousel
WinCNC
VcarvePro 9.5
15Hp FPZ vacuum, phenolic plenum
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-27-2019, 07:17 AM
Bruce Bruce is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Dallas, GA
Posts: 42
Default

Problem solved.. it was one of the power supply circuit boards.. After doing a phone call to Camaster and going through a couple of "tries" of different things, that is what was determined... I rode over to Camaster and swapped it out and all is up and running again. Unfortunately this is the 2nd one that has gone out since I got the machine a few months ago. We checked the voltage and all is within the good zone. Hopefully just a bad batch that I got!
__________________
Bruce Jeansonne
decorativecabinets@comcast.net
CAMaster Panther 508
Laser Engraver
Hurricane Vacuum
WinCNC and VCarve Pro
https://www.facebook.com/decorativecabinets/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.