CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > Recoil Indexing Lathe (4th Axis)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-01-2017, 03:20 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,760
Default

There are 2 ways to accomplish a leg similar to what Kevin has shown here.

The first, and I believe this is the method that Kevin used, is to make a model of the leg, wrap it for machining and then cut on the rotary axis. In Kevin's video this is shown using a rotary raster cut method.

Due to the need to generate a 3D model, this method is limited to Aspire users. VCarve users that can have a model provided for them by an Aspire users are fully able to cut similar files.

The second, which is available to both Aspire and VCPro users is to use the Molding Toolpath, which should return similar, if not better results. There is no 3D model generated, nor required. In most cases this will not be an issue unless there would be a need for subsequent toolpaths to interact with or be applied to the toolpathed shape.

There are numerous tutorial videos that show these processes, along with plenty of additional info in the Help Contents and Reference Manual
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-01-2017, 03:24 PM
mike.davison mike.davison is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bolton, Massachusetts
Posts: 448
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DHouse View Post
Can anyone here explain how to do this ?
Can this be done using v carve pro V8.5?
I've only used Aspire. I think to do any 3D work, rotary or not, with VCP you'd need to start with 3D model from an external source. I'm sure folks knowledgeable about VCP will provide a better answer.

Using Aspire, you create a rotary job, create a vector that defines the leg profile, do a 2-rail sweep of that profile and then wrap that profile using the rotary tools. Vectric has some great tutorial videos out there for this.
__________________
Mike Davison
Stinger II 4x4, Recoil, spindle, FTC, Aspire, Sketchup
http://www.DavisonWoodworks.com/
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-01-2017, 04:39 PM
DHouse DHouse is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spokane WA.
Posts: 63
Default

To both Gary and Mike

Can a rhino model work for this?
__________________
Stinger 1
PC 3.25
WinCNC
V-CarvePro, Rhino (Mac)
FTC
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-01-2017, 04:51 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,760
Default

If it is an appropriately scaled model in a file format that VCPro can import, then yes
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-01-2017, 04:58 PM
mike.davison mike.davison is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bolton, Massachusetts
Posts: 448
Default

What my hero Gary said. As an example, Rhino can generate STL and VCP can import STL.
__________________
Mike Davison
Stinger II 4x4, Recoil, spindle, FTC, Aspire, Sketchup
http://www.DavisonWoodworks.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.