CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Tips & Techniques > CAMaster Cabinetmaking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2013, 01:08 AM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 3,400
Default Out with the old and in with .........

I have been using an old workmate as my ATC workstation, it didn't look very professorial when the customers came to my workshop. So I decides to make a tall corner cabinet, the countertop is 44" off the ground (I prefer to stand and operate the CNC) it has one large door with my CNC computer and an amplifier for my music (got to have music in the shop). There is one large drawer for router bits etc and one small drawer for my pencils. I used Aspire software to cut the plywood panels, the faceframe and side panels were done on my router table. The material is popular and stained oak the panels are 1/4" Jatoba, there were all off cuts from prior jobs.

Picture #1 - old Workmate
Picture #2 - Cutting parts on the ATC
Picture #3 - Finished Cabinet
Picture #4 - Inside the door - Amp and computer
Picture #5 - Large drawer
Picture #6 - Small drawer
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Old Workmate.jpg (31.3 KB, 215 views)
File Type: jpg Cutting Parts.jpg (55.6 KB, 226 views)
File Type: jpg Finished Cabinet.jpg (36.4 KB, 240 views)
File Type: jpg Amp and Computer.jpg (48.8 KB, 203 views)
File Type: jpg Large Drawer.jpg (47.3 KB, 203 views)
File Type: jpg Small Drawer.jpg (40.6 KB, 187 views)
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 9.5 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2013, 01:27 AM
Bruce Page Bruce Page is offline
Stinger I Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,456
Default

Very nice. I haven't even thought that far ahead yet! I'll need to come up with something.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2013, 06:32 AM
tom klass tom klass is offline
Stinger I Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hamburg,N.Y.
Posts: 444
Default

nice Mick I'm in the same boat mine sits on saw horses with a piece of plywood for a top. I'm just going to put a job on hold to do some of my own stuff.
__________________
Tom Klass
Klassic Custom Woodworking
Stinger. 1 with recoil lathe
1.7 kw spindle
Digit. Probe, laser pointer,Aspire,WinCNC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2013, 09:49 AM
de5 de5 is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Honea Path, SC
Posts: 914
Default

That looks great Mick. Is the cabinet vented? If so, what are you using for filters?
__________________
Charlie Hind
Cobra 404 ATC with 12 tool positions & 4th Axis (2012-present)
(2006-2012 - K2 CNC... sold in 2012 to buy the Cobra)
WinCNC
www.hindocarina.com
http://facebook.com/hindocarina
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2013, 11:12 AM
neal_meyers_jr neal_meyers_jr is online now
CAMaster Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Guyton, Ga
Posts: 636
Send a message via Skype™ to neal_meyers_jr
Cool

Nice work. Esp the amp for music.
__________________
Owner with Recoil



Neal Meyers Jr
Guyton Ga
Aspire 4.0, WinCNC, Rhino, Mastercam, Autocad, Catia.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2013, 11:24 AM
Luke Bennett's Avatar
Luke Bennett Luke Bennett is offline
CAMaster Tech
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 255
Default

Good job Mick looks good
__________________
Luke Bennett
CAMaster CNC Tech
www.camaster.com

Frankenstinger 25x48 custom machine
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2013, 12:00 PM
Mick Martin's Avatar
Mick Martin Mick Martin is offline
CAMaster Cobra Owner (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 3,400
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by de5 View Post
That looks great Mick. Is the cabinet vented? If so, what are you using for filters?
Charlie,

I cut slots in the bottom of the cabinet to draw air in and install two computer fans one on each back panel to extract/push the air out I have not installed a filter.
__________________
Mick Martin
mickmartin3@comcast.net
CAMaster Cobra 508 ATC + Recoil + Popup Pins
Digitize Touch Probe
Wincnc Handheld Serial Keypad + Wireless Pendant
Hurricane vacuum
WinCNC + Aspire 9.5 + PhotoVCarve + EnRoute 5
www.customarchitecturalsignage.com
www.mickmartinwoodworking.com/

The search function on the forum is your best friend!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-24-2013, 01:08 PM
de5 de5 is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Honea Path, SC
Posts: 914
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick Martin View Post
Charlie,

I cut slots in the bottom of the cabinet to draw air in and install two computer fans one on each back panel to extract/push the air out I have not installed a filter.
Having slots on the bottom is a great idea. You could easily slide a furnace filter underneath.
__________________
Charlie Hind
Cobra 404 ATC with 12 tool positions & 4th Axis (2012-present)
(2006-2012 - K2 CNC... sold in 2012 to buy the Cobra)
WinCNC
www.hindocarina.com
http://facebook.com/hindocarina
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-24-2013, 01:11 PM
Bruce Page Bruce Page is offline
Stinger I Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,456
Default

I made a shop stereo cabinet years ago with a common auto engine filter on the bottom and an old salvaged computer fan mounted near the top. I also sealed the door opening with some weather stripping. The filter does an excellent job of keeping the dust out.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Stereo Cabinet 1.jpg (57.2 KB, 129 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-24-2013, 01:14 PM
rcrawford rcrawford is offline
Cobra Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,194
Default

Nice cabinet Mick! I need a fan and filters in my computer cabinet as well. I have venting in the back, but it is always getting dust inside.

I like the extra height for use while standing. I also stand most of the time, but I'm hunched over my 30" high desk.

For those of you putting fans in your desk, how do you operate the fan? Does it get power from the computer so it turns on only when the computer is on?
__________________
Russell Crawford
Cobra 408 ATC with recoil
Alberta, Canada
www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.