CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Tips & Techniques > Router Bits

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-30-2018, 03:06 PM
Erik Land Erik Land is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Oregon
Posts: 28
Default

Jim it might not have anything to do with the collet, but the retaining nut it snaps into. Iíve had nuts with the center hole bored out 10 thousands larger and the collet snaps in fine but dosent hold the bit well befor tightening.

Erik
__________________
Erik Land
Dorena Oregon
Cnccutter@gmail.com


Stinger I SR24 11/27/17
Performance package Pro:
2" Gantry Lift
FTC Fast Tool Change
Laser Cross Hair
Counter Balance
Tee Track Table
Kent Dust Shoe
WinCNC
Aspire 9.5
Rhino
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-30-2018, 09:42 PM
Jim_in_PA Jim_in_PA is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 717
Default

I thought of that, too, Erik...two different nuts from two different manufacturers. Same deal. Very weird! But based on previous comments, apparently it happens. At least there's zero issue once the nut is tightened. Whew!
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-03-2018, 12:53 PM
CosmosK CosmosK is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 799
Default

maritool for collet and nuts.. great stuff
__________________
2014 Stinger II (SR-44)
1.7 kW Spindle w/ speed control, Performance kit, VCarve Pro
www.cosmos-industrial.com
>Pen Marking Tools
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-04-2018, 08:04 AM
tmouse tmouse is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 107
Default

Did you check to see if your bit is the size it says it is. I have some 1/4 inch bits that measure .24 at the shank
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-04-2018, 11:06 AM
Jim_in_PA Jim_in_PA is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 717
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmouse View Post
Did you check to see if your bit is the size it says it is. I have some 1/4 inch bits that measure .24 at the shank
Yes...as mentioned, I've also tested this with like a dozen different cutters, both CNC oriented and "regular" router bits and both premium and "value priced" versions. All of them to a tee are "loose". And this is with both the original 1/2" collet that came with the CNC and the Amana collet I bought as backup.

It is what it is...and again, they tighten up snug and secure for actual cutting. It just takes "three hands" to do that. LOL
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.