CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Tips & Techniques > 3d Scanning & Equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2020, 01:24 PM
MK-Tek Holsters MK-Tek Holsters is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Northeast
Posts: 18
Default Einscan SP 3D scan to Cad solution?

We recently bought an Einscan SP 3D Scanner. It delivers great scans of our handguns for us to make holsters from. The issue we have is translating the 3D Scan STL file into a CAD file or form our CAD software will work with so we can cut out our molds on our Camaster Stinger. Anybody have experience with this that wants to help. Not looking to spend huge amounts of money for Geomagic software. There must be some solution we can work with.

Thank you
Todd
__________________
Todd May
MK-Tek Holsters
www.mk-tekholsters.com
Stinger 1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-28-2020, 02:33 PM
TimPa TimPa is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: nw pa
Posts: 299
Default

Hi Todd, you're project sounds very intriguing, as i am a huge gun enthusiast. regarding your issue, all I can add is that if I had any 3d scan questions, i would consult Brady Watson. he is remarkable, and he hangs out here...
__________________
Panther PT-404 (aluminum)
6 position ATC w/5hpHSD, Aspire 9.5/WinCNC, Recoil, Laser, Hurricane
near bottom of the learning curve!!

Last edited by TimPa; 07-28-2020 at 02:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2020, 02:19 PM
rcnewcomb rcnewcomb is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
3D Scan STL file into a CAD file or form our CAD software will work with
What is your CAD/CAM software?
Do you have VCarve or Aspire?
__________________
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2020, 09:56 AM
telegraph147 telegraph147 is offline
CAMhead Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 3
Default

Actually you can do it "manually in your CAD software, thought it will take time.

Myself I've found something like a compromise between price end efficiency. I use Geomagic to Solidworks plugin. It adds the Geomagic features I need directly into Solidworks, and it's much cheaper. I use it to process scans made with Artec 3d scanners, but I don't see why it wouldn't work with STL from different 3d scanner. I think you should connect with the developer and ask.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2020, 11:53 AM
james mcgrew's Avatar
james mcgrew james mcgrew is offline
Administrator, (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ridgeway sc
Posts: 7,252
Default

Damn the scanners have come down, When i started the damn things were 25-40 k
__________________
James McGrew
CAMaster ATC 508
The principle of Measure twice cut once has not been replaced by a CNC

www.mcgrewwoodwork.com

https://www.facebook.com/pg/Mcgrew-W...=page_internal

Camera 1 ATC Closeup !
https://video.nest.com/live/esNTrZ

fixed 4-27-2020
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-26-2020, 12:14 PM
telegraph147 telegraph147 is offline
CAMhead Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 3
Default

There are still some cheap ones. The question is what precision do you need.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.